Cod au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This was a really nice, homey dish for a cold night. I'm not sure it would still be traditional au Gratin, but I think next time I'll layer some cheese between the fish and sauce, for more melty goodness and less of a bubbly skin on top (which is still delicious, lol). While this recipe doesn't have the complexity and layers of flavor that other, more gourmet-types do with scores of herbs, peppers, etc., I feel it's really unfair for people to mark down this recipe and claim it's tasteless because of that. If you want to go ahead and doll the recipe up that's fine, but it's unfair to the submitter to dock stars or whatnot because of that. Thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
This dish is simply awesome. I adjusted the seaoning a little based upon other reviews. For seasoning I used 1/4 tsp. black pepper, 1/4 tsp. garlic, 1/4 tsp. dry mustard and 1/2 tsp. salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
As a Newfoundlander, I have to say that this is definitely the best Cod Au Gratin recipe out there! My husband's grandmother makes a very similar dish, and the taste always reminds of home! A layer of buttered bread crumbs will provide a nice alternative or addition to the cheese. But this recipe is great without it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Almonte, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
I agree with the other reviews. I used the recipe as is...except I added about 2 cups of sharp cheddar cheese. I layed the cheese alternatly with the fish. I also added some garlic powder and two tablesoons of dried parsley. My husband LOVED it. The kids (ages 2 & 3) also loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
I took a few liberties with this recipe, but the end result was pretty good. I didn't boil the fish, but rather fried it in a pan to start. Since some of the other reviews said it was bland, I used olive oil and garlic to fry it, and added some allspice on the tops during the frying. Also, with the sauce, I added some cheese to give it a better taste, poured that over the fish, and used cheddar and a bit of swiss on the top, then put the whole thing in the broiler until the cheese browned. The results were pretty good, and I think I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
Had this last night - everyone really liked it. I followed a reviewer's suggestion to fry the fish in olive oil and garlic before putting in the pan, which put a nice flavor in it and then I topped with small amount of mozzarello and cheddar cheeses. However, I think the next time I make it I'll try putting the garlic (and possible some cayenne) into the sauce and boil the fish as per recipe to cut down on calories. I also think this would be good if topped with buttered bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
A perfect recipe.I make it exactly as was given. Last night I added buttered bread crumbs, it gave it a little crunch. A wonderful comfort food. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
This is a great recipe! I usually add a half teaspoon of prepared mustard to the white sauce to give it a bit of a kick. My mother used to make a variation of this and cut up hard-boiled egg through the dish. It is nice served with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
This recipe looked and smelled great, but my husband and I were less than thrilled with the taste. It seemed a bit bland. Maybe some extra spices would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I really like this recipe - it is just the way my mother makes it as well (and I'm a Newfoundlandler so we know our Cod au Gratin). The only difference we have with our recipe is that we add bread crumbs to the top (this prevents the icky bubbly cheese crust and keeps the cheese gooey). I see that some people are calling this recipe "bland" but this is how it is traditionally done. Newfoundland food is mostly seasoned with salt and thats about it - not every region's food is hot and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States