Cod au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
My whole family really liked this dish. In fact, my daughter, who has literally never in her 6 years eaten any fish but fish sticks actually ate it and liked it! That says a lot!! My husband said that he'd like me to make it again. It was very easy to make. I used orange roughy and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
this was wonderful everyone liked it I served it with rice I will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oconto Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
As a Newfoundlander, I have to say that this is definitely the best Cod Au Gratin recipe out there! My husband's grandmother makes a very similar dish, and the taste always reminds of home! A layer of buttered bread crumbs will provide a nice alternative or addition to the cheese. But this recipe is great without it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Almonte, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
My family enjoyed this meal. the only change I made was I used 1 pound of cod and 1 pound of special crab meat. Very nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
This was very good over rice. If I make it again, I will use whole milk rather than 1% - I think that made the dish a bit watery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmi331

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
I used pollock fillets and layered in bread crumbs and cheese. I liked it, but my husband thought it was too bland and that it needed to be "more augratin-y"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
This recipe looked and smelled great, but my husband and I were less than thrilled with the taste. It seemed a bit bland. Maybe some extra spices would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
I took a few liberties with this recipe, but the end result was pretty good. I didn't boil the fish, but rather fried it in a pan to start. Since some of the other reviews said it was bland, I used olive oil and garlic to fry it, and added some allspice on the tops during the frying. Also, with the sauce, I added some cheese to give it a better taste, poured that over the fish, and used cheddar and a bit of swiss on the top, then put the whole thing in the broiler until the cheese browned. The results were pretty good, and I think I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
I agree with the other reviews. I used the recipe as is...except I added about 2 cups of sharp cheddar cheese. I layed the cheese alternatly with the fish. I also added some garlic powder and two tablesoons of dried parsley. My husband LOVED it. The kids (ages 2 & 3) also loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
Had this last night - everyone really liked it. I followed a reviewer's suggestion to fry the fish in olive oil and garlic before putting in the pan, which put a nice flavor in it and then I topped with small amount of mozzarello and cheddar cheeses. However, I think the next time I make it I'll try putting the garlic (and possible some cayenne) into the sauce and boil the fish as per recipe to cut down on calories. I also think this would be good if topped with buttered bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States