Cod au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
the sauce for this is really good.. I guess i used the wrong fish for this... I had some white fish and thought it would be ok with that too..but i think it was just the fish that i didn´t like.. but it´s not what matters.. the idea was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This is a great recipe! The only changes I made were adding garlic and frozen peas to the sauce and increased my baking time by seven minutes than recommended (although I think that was because of my oven). My husband loved it as well and says he would love to have it again! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
As others have stated, this is an excellent, easy recipe to embellish on. I cut it in half to feed 2 (using a smaller casserole, of course), and followed the instructions as they are, except for adding a few things along the way: I put about 1 tablespoon of lemon juice into the boiling water, to cut any fishy aroma as it cooked. In addition to salt and pepper, I added a little bit of garlic powder, some dried, minced onion, and a dash of dry sherry to the cream sauce before I poured it over the fish. It came out very rich and tasty, and I served it with a little rice and asparagus. My husband, who is hard to please when it comes to fish, thought it was good enough to have again, so this is definitely going in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILMILLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA
Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
A few tweaks and this was outrageously delicious. I used butter rather than margarine. I added 1 tsp each of garlic powder, mustard powder and Old Bay Seasoning to the roux. I skipped the extra step of boiling the fish and just put it straight in the pan. I layered - fish chunks, then sauce, then cheese and then repeated once. I also used Nile Perch instead of cod - I think any thick fillet can work. This was a huge hit with the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
You don't need to cook the cod prior to placing in the dish. We cut the whole cod fillets into cubes and layer them in individual serving dishes. This gives the dish a meatier and moister feel in the mouth. I find the flaked recipes very dry. You can also replace half the amount of cheese with breadcrumbs and sprinkle the cheese and crumbs together on top of the fish and sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Excellent base recipe. This was delicious! I broiled the fish with some garlic powder and old bay, then made the roux with 1 TBS less flour and added the following spices: dry mustard, Old Bay, Pepper, garlic powder, and a bit of poultry seasoning. I didn't layer - just flaked it up a bit in a shallow layer then added a layer of swiss and a bit of cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Great recipe, I used bread crumbs to make a crisp top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
All 3 of my kids liked this dish, even though they don't usually eat fish without complaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnbonesteel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Great recipe! I used ground mustard, too. I also put the fish over some baked brown rice. The recipe for that is titled "oven Brown Rice." These were really just healthy and great recipes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
SO GOOD! From a fellow Newfoundlander. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States