Cod au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I made this as the recipe stated and it is very rich, but good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Kümmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Reedsburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Made according to recipe, turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Such a classic and so yummy. Just like Nanny's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyspark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This is a great recipe. I also do this with other white fish as well. Halibut is my favorite. I also add onions to my white sauce as well (I am an onion addict). Very yummy and my kids love it They are 6 and 9.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I absolutely loved it! I am a Newfoundlander and this is the first time I've made it or ate it. I don't know what took me so long to try it. I also fried my onions a little. Perfect recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This is definitely the genuine Newfoundland article, no question. Absolutely delicious. Sometimes I add a layer of finely chopped onion over the fish before adding the sauce, sometimes not. Depends on who's coming for supper. I'm very generous with the cheese layer. I baked mine in individual dishes, covered with tin foil. They're blazing hot coming out of the oven, so I'd recommend letting it sit for about 5 minutes before serving, just to cool it down a bit! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Being a Newfoundlander myself, cod au gratin is a staple in my house, I do however usually put a tablespoon of summer savory in the sauce. Gives a mild flavour to the dish. Mary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I really like this recipe - it is just the way my mother makes it as well (and I'm a Newfoundlandler so we know our Cod au Gratin). The only difference we have with our recipe is that we add bread crumbs to the top (this prevents the icky bubbly cheese crust and keeps the cheese gooey). I see that some people are calling this recipe "bland" but this is how it is traditionally done. Newfoundland food is mostly seasoned with salt and thats about it - not every region's food is hot and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Great recipe! I use this sometimes when I forget my own, hehe. I adjust the measurements to my own taste too. For example, I use soy milk sometimes or canned milk. Also, I sprinkle a lot of parsley on top and reduce the cheese. I use multigrain bread crumbs, never white. I use a lot of black pepper in the sauce too. This always tastes better the next day, I find. You can always add a dash of hot sauce to give it a kick too! mmmm, I love cod-au-gratin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This was awesome and so easy. I had relatives visiting the night I made it and it was a big hit. My aunt even asked for the recipe. This was the first time any of us had ever had it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misskat3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States