Cod au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I sauted the cod in oil and after seasoning it with garlic salt. Then mixed the cod with one package of cooked hash brown potatoes and added 1 tablespoon of dried mustard to the white sauce. Then layered white sauce, potato cod mixture & sharp cheddar cheese. Baked for 20 minutes covered in foil and 20 minutes uncovered. This was the first time I ever cooked fish and I am glad it choose to follow these directions. AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME! I can't wait for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Being from Newf, cod is a must in our diet. I have made this recipe several times but I have added a few items. I add bread crumbs to the top. To punch up the flavour a little I add some minced onion and 1 cup of shredded cheese to the white sauce while I am making it. It's our favorite cod recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I cooked this recipe for my New Foundland friend and we all absolutely loved it. The next time I plan on breaking it down into crocks. Definite comfort food for the long winters!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This recipe is different from anything I've ever made. It looked a little weird to me, but when I tasted it, I loved it! I could taste and feel the chunks of cod, but it was also creamy and cheesy...yum! My husband suggested that next time I sprinkle some paprika in it, so I may try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Seibert

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Russellville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
My family dubbed this recipe Cod Gravy! I should have known looking at the ingredients "flower, milk, butter" If you like fish and white gravy this recipe is for you. I'm going to stick to biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Very easy, and tasty; i cooked the cod in the sauce in the oven - 20 minutes covered, and 10 minutes uncovered, and used tex-mex cheese - wonderful. I also added frozen veggies in the sauce and the uncooked fish, cooking about 5 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I always had fried cod this was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I made this as the recipe stated and it is very rich, but good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESSENCE009

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Reedsburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Made according to recipe, turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Such a classic and so yummy. Just like Nanny's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyspark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States