Cod au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I will give this recipe five stars it was excellent! Had all the qualities of a good meal for a busy mom. Quick and easy to prepare, kid friendly, and it was essentially a two pan dish! Now it would have been a bit bland as given so I doctored it up some with season salt, onion powder, garlic powder, and dry mustard. I also skipped the boiling step by using pre-cooked and breaded fish filets from the store. I did not remove the breading because it's no different than bread crumbs! I also felt the cheese needed some play so I used mild cheddar, aged swiss and mozzarella and sprinkled it in between layers as well as on top. My three year old who has not cleaned her plate in eight mos had three helpings of this! My one year old (who eats everything) attacked it! My husband ate it happily and I loved it. A great easy main course. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by april_wendall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA
Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I loved this. I used half and half instead of milk and it tasted wondeful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This a wonderful recipe, even for a beginner cooking with fish, which I am. Well written and concise instructions. Have put this into my family choices for dinner! To get fish eaten without being deep fried is always a challenge for Moms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Added a lot of garlic as per others advice. The fish was good and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Very tasty! I added a little garlic and used half heavy cream and half milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patkt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
My husband loves this. Very tasty & easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Made it for the first time last night and the family loved it. I used the suggestion on adding mustard to the sauce, otherwise didn't alter anything else. Served it with rice and crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Excellent! I added some garlic salt in place of regular salt, but great recipe for cod. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I sauted the cod in oil and after seasoning it with garlic salt. Then mixed the cod with one package of cooked hash brown potatoes and added 1 tablespoon of dried mustard to the white sauce. Then layered white sauce, potato cod mixture & sharp cheddar cheese. Baked for 20 minutes covered in foil and 20 minutes uncovered. This was the first time I ever cooked fish and I am glad it choose to follow these directions. AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME! I can't wait for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States