Cod au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
For this dish you have to add some sharp grated cheddar cheese to the sauce also and add a vegetable bouillon cube to give it some flavor hope this helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Not usually an inventive cook, however this time I used what I had on hand (a white fish in freezer from someone's fishing trip) slightly thawed and put it in a small greased baking dish in the toaster-oven (convection kind) at 375 degrees F. In a heavy saucepan I melted butter, added chopped shallot, garlic, red and green pepper (bits of this and that from the vegetable drawer). After they were browned I added 2 TBS flour,and stirred until thickened. Then slowly added about a cup of 2% milk and a little half n half for flavor. Added a chunk of cheddar (~ 1/2 cup cubed). Stir until melted. Add S&P to taste. Poured this over the fish and topped with some seasoned stuffing mix and put back in oven at 400 for~ 15 minutes. Just enough time to cook instant brown rice. Served the fish over the rice with a salad on the side. My husband (83) praised it as worthy of serving in our local restaurant. High Praise indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Key, Florida, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Like some of the others, I found this recipe too bland. I called my mom in Newfoundland for her recipe, which has different amounts of the sauce ingredients: 2 tbsp butter, 2 tbsp flour, 1 cup milk, 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp pepper. Double or triple depending on how much you're making/size of pan. Also don't let the sauce get too thick, and sprinkle cheese on each layer (not just top). It came out perfect. Just an alternative for anyone wishing to try another version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This was great! My hubby and I chowed down on this, it was just what I was looking for. I did layer extra cheese in with the sause, because the more cheese, the better - of course! And I added some garlic powder to the sauce for more flavor. Yumma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaala Cooney Leggette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I followed the directions to the the "t", other than adding spices =). I must say the dish was FANTASTIC!! I'm not much for fish but I enjoyed this dish very much, so did my family! Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Yes, this is a real recipe from "The Rock". I've eaten it in homes and restaurants in NFLD - sometimes with the cheese mixed into the white sauce. It can be jazzed up with other herbs as other reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Made this dish for my mother, husband and son. My son liked it however my mom thought it was runny and my husband said it was bland. I did spice it up more than the recipe called for too! I however thought it was good. It was easy and a nice change from the regular baked cod. I think I will try it again but really take it up a notch with spices and maybe throw in some veggies like a casserole! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Absolutely wonderful! I used tilapia I had on hand and due to other reviews added 1 tsp parsley, 1 tsp garlic powder and layered the cheese with the rest and It was incredible. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhilipD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Maybe I just don't care for cod au gratin, but this recipe was very bland. I added extra seasoning and it still didn't hit the mark. Next time I'll make a healthier, more zippy cod dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Absolutely loved it, the family did as well. I did it with Cod the first time, the second I did it with Tilapia. Tried Tilapia because the price was so much cheaper and I am on a budget. The Tilapia was a little more fishier tasting, but still good. Thanks for a great recipe. ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States