Cod au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I've made a jazzed up version of this twice now and it's become one of our favorites. I saute sweet peppers and mushrooms, add some sherry/vermouth and use real cream in place of the milk and flour. Also add dry mustard, chives, parsley, sweet paprika and pepper. Melt the cheese into the cream to thicken and top with bread crumbs and more cheese. Serve over rice - so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I really like this dish since I'm from Cr. Brook, it reminds me of the real thing. My mother always added and bread crumb topping which made extra cripsy and thick. I added paprika and cayenne. ummm Cod au Gratin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Warm, and hearty, and yummy! And most importantly my super picky husband loved it! I used haddock instead of cod, and added a bit of smoked paprika before baking. It turned out great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teacupnosaucer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This is the perfect traditional Newfoundland Cod Au Gratin. If you add any spices to it, it will no longer be a Newfoundland style Cod Au Gratin. Do not take stars away, as this recipe is meant to be very simple. If you want a more complex recipe, add some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
For this dish you have to add some sharp grated cheddar cheese to the sauce also and add a vegetable bouillon cube to give it some flavor hope this helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Not usually an inventive cook, however this time I used what I had on hand (a white fish in freezer from someone's fishing trip) slightly thawed and put it in a small greased baking dish in the toaster-oven (convection kind) at 375 degrees F. In a heavy saucepan I melted butter, added chopped shallot, garlic, red and green pepper (bits of this and that from the vegetable drawer). After they were browned I added 2 TBS flour,and stirred until thickened. Then slowly added about a cup of 2% milk and a little half n half for flavor. Added a chunk of cheddar (~ 1/2 cup cubed). Stir until melted. Add S&P to taste. Poured this over the fish and topped with some seasoned stuffing mix and put back in oven at 400 for~ 15 minutes. Just enough time to cook instant brown rice. Served the fish over the rice with a salad on the side. My husband (83) praised it as worthy of serving in our local restaurant. High Praise indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Key, Florida, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Like some of the others, I found this recipe too bland. I called my mom in Newfoundland for her recipe, which has different amounts of the sauce ingredients: 2 tbsp butter, 2 tbsp flour, 1 cup milk, 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp pepper. Double or triple depending on how much you're making/size of pan. Also don't let the sauce get too thick, and sprinkle cheese on each layer (not just top). It came out perfect. Just an alternative for anyone wishing to try another version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This was great! My hubby and I chowed down on this, it was just what I was looking for. I did layer extra cheese in with the sause, because the more cheese, the better - of course! And I added some garlic powder to the sauce for more flavor. Yumma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaala Cooney Leggette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I followed the directions to the the "t", other than adding spices =). I must say the dish was FANTASTIC!! I'm not much for fish but I enjoyed this dish very much, so did my family! Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Yes, this is a real recipe from "The Rock". I've eaten it in homes and restaurants in NFLD - sometimes with the cheese mixed into the white sauce. It can be jazzed up with other herbs as other reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States