Cod au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Really easy and tasty,,with more or less liquid,,could be a fish soup..My husband really like this and so easy..Thanx..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
It is a comfort recipe, and can be altered with herbs and any vegetable of choice. I do add some petit baby peas, a little finely chopped onion and a dash of garlic into the sauce. Whether you saute, microwave or boil the fish before hand, add a tsp of lemon juice and you will take care of the fishy smell if your fish has it. I always pre-cook the fish. If you don't it makes it very watery. Go ahead and try it, use some herbs your family loves. Serve with some rice or as mentioned in one review, boiled potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. gayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I made this for supper tonight, changed very little. I used same measurements only had skim milk and used real butter I only had grated sharp and regular cheddar 2 cups in bag. I made the white sauce then added the cheese to white sauce. After boiling fish and draining I layered it in baking dish added half of sauce over fish then added a layer of frozen broccoli then the rest of sauce. I then added the rest of the grated cheese on top and baked 45 minutes. It was delicious and I am not that fond of fish. Will make again good enough for company, served with long grain and wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This is a solid everyday dinner for families with kids. I find it bland, but the kids and hubby love it. I often stir in a bag of frozen veggies (peas, corn, beans, etc) when poaching the fish and add it all to make a one dish dinner. Next time I will try a sharper cheddar or swiss and see if that helps perk it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aopiuofc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Even those who fuss about fish for dinner will love this! I added some leftover rice to it and it was excellent . . . to get everyone to love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I've made a jazzed up version of this twice now and it's become one of our favorites. I saute sweet peppers and mushrooms, add some sherry/vermouth and use real cream in place of the milk and flour. Also add dry mustard, chives, parsley, sweet paprika and pepper. Melt the cheese into the cream to thicken and top with bread crumbs and more cheese. Serve over rice - so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I really like this dish since I'm from Cr. Brook, it reminds me of the real thing. My mother always added and bread crumb topping which made extra cripsy and thick. I added paprika and cayenne. ummm Cod au Gratin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Warm, and hearty, and yummy! And most importantly my super picky husband loved it! I used haddock instead of cod, and added a bit of smoked paprika before baking. It turned out great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teacupnosaucer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This is the perfect traditional Newfoundland Cod Au Gratin. If you add any spices to it, it will no longer be a Newfoundland style Cod Au Gratin. Do not take stars away, as this recipe is meant to be very simple. If you want a more complex recipe, add some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
For this dish you have to add some sharp grated cheddar cheese to the sauce also and add a vegetable bouillon cube to give it some flavor hope this helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States