Cod au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by KRDYUKON
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
My high school principal made cod au gratin for a cultural day one year and I loved it, so I just had to make it again. I found this recipe and decided to give it a shot. I've made it twice now, as is and tweaked. It's great as is or made using seasoning salt instead of salt, about a teaspoon of dried summer savoury or thyme in the sauce, and by putting a few tablespoons of dehydrated onion in the with the boiling cod. Even my fussy family liked it. Thanks Rose Small
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I'm giving this a 5 because I LOVE it. My family could take it or leave it. I was making it with the cheese but my husband isn't a cheese lover so now I make it with crushed Ritz on top. I love the leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
great cod au gratin, I added garlic powder, fresh parsley and bread crumbs delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Great recipe. The only change I made was I sauté some onion and added between the layers of cod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: North Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This cod au gratin is delicious!! I am from Newfoundland and this is true Newfoundland cod au gratin. I agree, it doesn't use a lot of spices or flavours but traditionally we don't. Some recipes I love to change/add spices but in this recipe I cooked it as is and it was wonderful! Love it! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paradise, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
The sauce came out very thick and we added a little garlic powder with the salt and pepper, along with most of the cheese. Overall, a tasty alternative to just 'fish'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
In my opinion, this is definitely the perfect cod au gratin recipe. You can't skimp on the salt or it will be bland but I believe that cod has such a delicate flavour that it can be ruined by using too many seasonings. Don't break up the fish to much in the casserole dish or it will be mushy. Nice big flakes of cod are delicious! I also tuck some small chucks of cheese into the fish mixture before topping it with shredded cheese. The Cod must be very very fresh or it will taste fishy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I enjoyed this, but had to add quite a bit of salt...not sure if it's the recipe or just my palate. I served it over wild rice and it was pretty delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Fish as a comfort food? YES!!! I did take the advice of MERLIN3370 by adding 1/4 tsp. black pepper, 1/4 tsp. garlic, 1/4 tsp. dry mustard and 1/2 tsp. salt. This was very tasty and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was good but not great. It just needed something and just cannot put my finger on it. Probably will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Citrus Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States