Cod au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Loved it. It's an easy and quick recipe. Yes, it can be a little bland for those who like a lot of 'kick', but it's the type of recipe that allows for extra 'spices' to be added. It's definitely a good alternative to serving cod (apart from fish 'n' chips, i.e.!!) :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This is a very nice EASY recipe to do. I also took others advice and added a few more spices, and layered the cheese into the cod and sauce. I also added some sun-dried tomatoes. Everyone in my family loved it, and took seconds! I would advise serving it with rice, or garlic toast to sop up some of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I really liked this. It was easy to make. I only made half a batch, after reading some of the other reviews, I added 1 tsp. Old Bay, 1/2 tsp. Tony's, and 1/4 tsp. Garlic Powder in with the flour. I also layered the sauce and cheese. Definately will make again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monett, Missouri, USA
Living In: Carthage, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This was delicious!! I couldn't find cod though, so I used tilapia, and I added little shrimp. I also ate it with rice. It was so creamy and cheesy, there is no doubt that I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This was a really nice, homey dish for a cold night. I'm not sure it would still be traditional au Gratin, but I think next time I'll layer some cheese between the fish and sauce, for more melty goodness and less of a bubbly skin on top (which is still delicious, lol). While this recipe doesn't have the complexity and layers of flavor that other, more gourmet-types do with scores of herbs, peppers, etc., I feel it's really unfair for people to mark down this recipe and claim it's tasteless because of that. If you want to go ahead and doll the recipe up that's fine, but it's unfair to the submitter to dock stars or whatnot because of that. Thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Pretty decent, lacks a bit of taste, but a good meal for white fish. This I'd make once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
This was just okay for me. Pretty tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
YUM!!! As a fellow newfoundlander, I love and grew up on this recipe. I did not use salt cod, so I made sure to add lots of salt and pepper. Also, traditionally, this recipe is served with boiled potatoes , which is a wonderful with the extra cheese sauce on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Broderick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
All the family enjoyed this tasty meal was a hit and real easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This was just OK. Not something to serve guests but pretty quick and easy for a week night meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States