Cod au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Delicious! This white sauce is super easy but if you are a fan of Shirleyj (shirleyj.com) mixes, used her white sauce mix instead of making the white sauce here. This is really a yummy way to do fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I like some others added garlic and old bay and layered the cod, sauce and cheese. It was excellent. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lucama, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This recipe was fantastic! I used cheddar cheese that I freshly grated and I think that helps to step the whole thing up a notch. I used cod loin because that's what I had on hand. After the sauce was done, I added about 1 tsp of salt, about a 1/2 tsp of pepper, a bit of ground garlic and a sprinkling of smoked paprika to it. For the layers, I did fish, sauce, half the cheese and then repeated one more time. After baking for 20 minutes I put the whole thing under the broiler for a minute to get a nice crust on the top. My husband and I barely talked during dinner, savoring every bite! This recipe is definitely staying in the rotation. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is delicious. I did change it up a little bit, and it was a big hit in my house. Specifically, for the roux (sauce), I added a little grated cheddar slowly to let it absorb into the sauce, as well as about a half ounce of velveeta. Sacrilege, maybe, but it made for a very cheesy sauce that complimented the fish very well. Lastly, for the seasoning, I added a couple of dashes of savoury. Made sure the top was a pure coating of grated cheddar, and what came out of the oven later was pure perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacecom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Almost perfect! It is missing the secret ingredient of a tablespoon or so of savory!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I didn't have quite enough cod so I steamed some cauliflower in a steamer basket on top of the simmered cod and added to the fish layers. Everything else was the same and it was great! It is bland but still great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShelbyLyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I read past reviews and adjusted to my taste. I also prefer small flakes of fish versus big chunks. This recipe is easy to adjust: 1) After boiling the cod, saute fish in butter or olive oil. Add spices and or herbs according to taste. I added chives, parsley, salt, pepper, old bay w/garlic & herb, and fresh garlic. 2) When making the white sauce, I adjusted to taste with the same herbs and spices used to saute fish. If you like the taste if the fish and sauce, you will most likely enjoy the final outcome. 3) If you like onions, saute thinly sliced onions and layer with fish, sauce, cheese, and onion. 4) While baking, saute panko crumbs in butter or oil until golden brown. Top dish with crumbs in the last 5 minutes if bsking. 5) Enjoy with a side if brown rice and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This dish doesn't sound all that delicious........but it is heavenly!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! No changes!!! Wonderful as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by born2dans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Pretty good. I don't cook my fish though. I also add about 3/4 tsp of savory to the sauce. Really nice addition. Because the fish is not cooked, I leave it in the oven for 30 minutes. I side dish this with potato chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Grand Falls-Windsor, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I loved this. It is a heavy dish. I would recommend eating with a salad or cooked veggies. Skip the starches with this. You just won't have the room for both. This recipe is definitely going to be a favorite. I dish add some parsley along with salt and pepper. That was my only, tiny, modification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States