Coconut Walnut Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by sixkyej
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I decreased the flour to 3 cups, increased coconut to 3/4 cup. Great with a nice coconut flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Awesome biscotti! This is the first of six different kinds that I made from this site and it is my favorite out of all of them. Followed recipe as written but sub. pecans for the walnuts and toasted the coconut. Try this, it really is the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberty, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Another post indicated that the flour should be reduced while adding more coconut. I always try the recipe as written before moving on to changes others may recommend; in this case I wish I had cut the flour as these became a little gummy as I worked in the last bit of flour and then the nuts and coconut. So definitely reduce the flour to 3 cups and you'l have better results. As for the flavor, these are A++ with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
ohmygod. i love biscotti and i make TONS of it for my family during christmas and was looking for a new recipe to try out. so this past christmas i tried this one out and it is BY FAR my most FAVORITE biscotti EVER-everyone loved it and it turned out perfect everytime. i like these biscotti mostly because i love coconut haha but also because they were thicker and different than most of the chocolate dipped or dried fruit filled biscotti out there. great recipe-thank you for adding to my family tradition!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeobsessed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I made these for a church picnic and they were very well received. I saw kids and older adults both enjoying the biscotti. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
First time making biscotti and these were really good. A little different than your usual biscotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ewilson
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Very good. Although like suggested in the other reviews, I only put in 3 cups of flour and little bit more coconut than asked for. I aslo did not add the walnuts (allergies). The dough was very dry but by adding some milk that problem was solved. In the end, the changes were worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ewilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Wow! I made a few kinds of biscotti for my family, and they liked this one so much they barely touched the other kinds. Like the other reviewers said, it's a bit crumbly, but it's nothing a little milk wouldn't fix easily. Simple recipe, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I serve this biscotti every Christmas and it is a big hit. I made a few changes: I decreased the flour to 3 cups (perfect), increased the coconut to 3/4 cup and toasted it, and used toasted pecans or almonds instead of walnuts (I like the flavor of the other two better). One time I forgot to add the coconut extract and the coconut flavor was not nearly so pronounced. I usually drizzle chocolate over the top for looks. This is a really great recipe, and if you like coconut you will fall in love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This is a nice twist on walnut biscotti. I'd like to offer these suggestions to aid in flavor and forming: Decrease flour to 3 cups, toast the coconut til lightly browned and crunchy and increase to 1 cup, add a generous Tablespoon of Malibu rum instead of the coconut flavoring. Proceed with recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States