Coconut Walnut Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I'm sure this recipe is great as written but biscotti really lends it self to substitutions and so I did. Followed the suggestion of other reviewers and reduced flour to 3 cups. Used chopped almonds in place of walnuts and 3 extracts: 1/2 tsp. each of vanilla, coconut, and almond. With addition of mini chocolate chips it's like Almond Joy biscotti! It's easier to slice if it cools for a full 15 mins first and don't use a sawing motion when slicing - just cut straight through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I did 1/2 almond extract and 1/2 coconut extract. I also substituted the walnuts for almonds as we never have walnuts in my house. Love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess_caleb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cannon Beach, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Try This Recipe! SOoooo good, great flavor, worthy of Gift Giving. Stores well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
WAY easier than I expected and I was able to alter any "flavoring" ingredients with the same results! Thanks for the recipe--this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Such wonderful flavors, but needed more time to cool before the second baking to make sure that they stayed crisp and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I have tried several biscotti recipes and this one is my favorite 'base' recipe! The coconut walnut combination is yummy, but I've also deleted them and made variations: Orange Almond, Amaretta/almonds/almond flavoring, Almond Joy (cocoa powder, coconut and almonds). You can change it up so many ways and it's delicious every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
VERY EASY WITH GREAT RESULTS!! I too adjusted the recipe a bit; 3 1/8 cup flour, 3/4 cup cocunut and I used pecans because that's my favorite which I toasted together, very lightly, before adding. It might seem like it's dry but don't give up, divide the dough in half and roll each half out on the counter with your hands and if the roll separates, simply pat it back and keep rolling gently back and forth till you have a log, The butter content will mesh it together if you're patient!!! My 3 year old "helps" me when I'm cooking/baking and these were a perfect recipe for her to help me with. TRY IT, I can't wait for tomorrow morning to eat them with my morning cup!!! thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celina Boyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Great easy recipe. Used fresh coconut and striped chocolate ganache on top. Beautiful and Delicious. Will make this over and over and add different fruits, nuts, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
found them to be a little bit on the dry side but they had great taste and were scooped up pretty fast at work who all said they were great and wanted to know what im bakeing next week lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvu61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
easy & really good, didn't have coconut flavoring so used vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen McAllister

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States