Coconut Tofu Keema Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bg
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Okay, but needs some tweaking. I had to triple the tofu to make up for the amount of tomato sauce. Also, mine was a little on too salty. The flavors are good though. I think I will get it right in the next try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Great recipe! I've substituted paneer for the tofu a couple of times and it came out great as well :) one important tip though - you can get away with using just one 14 Oz can of diced tomatoes, and add it to the onions once they're done cooking but cover and wait at least 10-15 minutes for the flavor of the raw tomato to cook out. You'll be left with a deep tomato flavor that will be evident by the aroma once the raw smell has cooked out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Left out some of the tomato sauce (2C) and hot sauce sense some people in my house don't like spice. It was great. I served it with both a side of naan and brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abirleffi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I used a quart of unseasoned tomato sauce and light coconut milk and my dish lacked depth of flavor. I will prepare it again but I will need to make some alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I did change the recipe a lot so the review is a little clouded. I used a 15 ounce can of tomato sauce and about a cup of halved sweet cherry tomatoes from the garden. Also used 14 ounce can of coconut cream but coconut milk would work as well. I sautéed the garlic, onions, tomatoes, a bit of green pepper and the spices in olive oil. I bumped up all of the spices and used red pepper flakes instead of paste. Then simmered it about an hour because the peas were still frozen when I added them. Served it all over jasmine rice. It was still lacking something but good enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Took advice from other reviewers and used 15 oz of tomato sauce. This meal was ok but I won't make it again. It was a good way to use tofu but the flavor was weak. Maybe doubling the spices would boost this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is the best coconut curry recipe I've made yet. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
As suggested by other reviewers, I did not use the amount of tomato sauce that the recipe calls for. I cut the sauce down to 3 cups and that was plenty. I also thought it needed more flavor, so I put more spices into the sauce as well. I liked it much better the following day, maybe because the tofu had time to marinate. It needs some adjustments, but has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turtleheart82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This was my first time making any type of curry. It was easy & best of all delicious. I used light coconut milk & it was yummy. Next time I may subsitute coconut oil for olive oil...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I love this recipe! Very flavorful and easy. I used a large can of tomato sauce (32 oz) and I was out of carrots so I used a whole 12 oz bag of frozen peas. I didn't have any red pepper paste so I put in some diced red bell peppers and a sprinkle of cayenne. I simmered it on the stove all afternoon. I wonder how this would do in the crock pot? I served it with some brown rice and everyone loved it, even my 2 year old grand-baby! I like this recipe because even if you don't have all of the ingredients, you can still make a delicious meal! I'm keeping this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Coconut Calamari Salad

See how to make a spicy squid salad with coconut milk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States