Coconut Tofu Keema Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Took advice from other reviewers and used 15 oz of tomato sauce. This meal was ok but I won't make it again. It was a good way to use tofu but the flavor was weak. Maybe doubling the spices would boost this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is the best coconut curry recipe I've made yet. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
As suggested by other reviewers, I did not use the amount of tomato sauce that the recipe calls for. I cut the sauce down to 3 cups and that was plenty. I also thought it needed more flavor, so I put more spices into the sauce as well. I liked it much better the following day, maybe because the tofu had time to marinate. It needs some adjustments, but has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turtleheart82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This was my first time making any type of curry. It was easy & best of all delicious. I used light coconut milk & it was yummy. Next time I may subsitute coconut oil for olive oil...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I love this recipe! Very flavorful and easy. I used a large can of tomato sauce (32 oz) and I was out of carrots so I used a whole 12 oz bag of frozen peas. I didn't have any red pepper paste so I put in some diced red bell peppers and a sprinkle of cayenne. I simmered it on the stove all afternoon. I wonder how this would do in the crock pot? I served it with some brown rice and everyone loved it, even my 2 year old grand-baby! I like this recipe because even if you don't have all of the ingredients, you can still make a delicious meal! I'm keeping this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
delicious, versatile. i've added celery with the onions, diced potato with the peas and carrots. squeeze a little lime juice before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Very good- like others I did not use all 6 cups of tomato sauce (we used 3 cups and it was more than enough). We will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I loved this recipe! It was my first time working with coconut milk, curry powder, and tofu. I read most of the reviews and I think I got it. For 2 people, I reduced the servings to 4. I then used 2 pressed cloves of garlic, 1/2 med onion minced, 3/4 can coconut milk, 3/4 package of tofu diced, 1 small can tomato sauce, 3/4 bag of frozed peas, and one carrot diced. I left the spice measurements as they were calculated. My dish turned out perfect even when simmered for 30 minutes. I ladled it over brown rice. This recipe re-heats really well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Had this for dinner to ifht with basmati rice. We made some changes based on the other reviews, and I am very glad I did! We used less oil. I cooked this in a Le Creuset pot and I still did not need 1/4 cup of oil. I also cut way down on the tomato sauce. I used 1 14-ounce can and I thought that was generous. The flavor was good, but not quite like the Indian we are used to eating :-). My 8-year old absolutely loved it. We all added generous amounts of cayenne pepper to our portions! This would pair nicely with a potato dish. The hubby asked to add this to the rotation. I will probably kick up the heat next time with dome turmeric and cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I LOVE this recipe! I make just two adjustments; to make it a little more saucy, I often add more coconut milk (either canned OR the kind that is refrigerated and comes in a carton). I also only use one 8-ounce can of tomato sauce--the first time I made this I used the full six cups the recipe calls for and it was WAY too much for my liking. Excellent dish! Great served over brown basmati rice. Perhaps even better as leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonny's Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crunchy Coconut and Lime Burgers

What's cooking in South Jersey? The Messy Cook's tropical burgers.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States