Coconut Tofu Keema Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I used a quart of unseasoned tomato sauce and light coconut milk and my dish lacked depth of flavor. I will prepare it again but I will need to make some alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I did change the recipe a lot so the review is a little clouded. I used a 15 ounce can of tomato sauce and about a cup of halved sweet cherry tomatoes from the garden. Also used 14 ounce can of coconut cream but coconut milk would work as well. I sautéed the garlic, onions, tomatoes, a bit of green pepper and the spices in olive oil. I bumped up all of the spices and used red pepper flakes instead of paste. Then simmered it about an hour because the peas were still frozen when I added them. Served it all over jasmine rice. It was still lacking something but good enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Took advice from other reviewers and used 15 oz of tomato sauce. This meal was ok but I won't make it again. It was a good way to use tofu but the flavor was weak. Maybe doubling the spices would boost this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is the best coconut curry recipe I've made yet. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
As suggested by other reviewers, I did not use the amount of tomato sauce that the recipe calls for. I cut the sauce down to 3 cups and that was plenty. I also thought it needed more flavor, so I put more spices into the sauce as well. I liked it much better the following day, maybe because the tofu had time to marinate. It needs some adjustments, but has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turtleheart82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This was my first time making any type of curry. It was easy & best of all delicious. I used light coconut milk & it was yummy. Next time I may subsitute coconut oil for olive oil...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I love this recipe! Very flavorful and easy. I used a large can of tomato sauce (32 oz) and I was out of carrots so I used a whole 12 oz bag of frozen peas. I didn't have any red pepper paste so I put in some diced red bell peppers and a sprinkle of cayenne. I simmered it on the stove all afternoon. I wonder how this would do in the crock pot? I served it with some brown rice and everyone loved it, even my 2 year old grand-baby! I like this recipe because even if you don't have all of the ingredients, you can still make a delicious meal! I'm keeping this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
delicious, versatile. i've added celery with the onions, diced potato with the peas and carrots. squeeze a little lime juice before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Very good- like others I did not use all 6 cups of tomato sauce (we used 3 cups and it was more than enough). We will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I loved this recipe! It was my first time working with coconut milk, curry powder, and tofu. I read most of the reviews and I think I got it. For 2 people, I reduced the servings to 4. I then used 2 pressed cloves of garlic, 1/2 med onion minced, 3/4 can coconut milk, 3/4 package of tofu diced, 1 small can tomato sauce, 3/4 bag of frozed peas, and one carrot diced. I left the spice measurements as they were calculated. My dish turned out perfect even when simmered for 30 minutes. I ladled it over brown rice. This recipe re-heats really well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crunchy Coconut and Lime Burgers

What's cooking in South Jersey? The Messy Cook's tropical burgers.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States