Coconut Tapioca Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I made this recipe without egg as suggested by other reviewers. Unfortunately, the pudding came out "gummy" instead of creamy. The tapioca tasted mushy rather than tapioca balls. This may be because of the brand of quick pearls I used, maybe I overcooked it, or because of the omitted egg (?) I topped it with banana slices which added a nice taste. I don't think I'd make this recipe again, I'd probably try another recipe, or soak regular tapioca and not use the quick version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Oily mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I followed the recipe, including the egg (which didn't appear to help or hinder). The consistency right from the start is like wallpaper paste! Looks more like oatmeal than pudding. Although I LOVE warm tapioca, I did not like this warm at all. It was at least palatable at room temperature. I'm not sure what it would take to make it better. I thought the coconut milk would be a nice alternative to dairy and add flavor but I couldn't detect ANY coconut flavor whatsoever. Very disappointing. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This was great! I usually try to skimp on sugar, but I wouldn't recommend it on this one. The batch I made was 4 stars but I think if I had added more sugar it would have been 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RosesAreRed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I used coconut milk beverage because I didn't have any canned coconut milk left. I used the vanilla kind which is already sweet so I cut back the sugar to 1/3c. I also added in a little coconut extract at the end because I'm a coconut junkie. Slightly more gelatinous than regular tapioca, but the flavor was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReelLove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delta Junction, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
OH...MY...GOSH!! How delightful. How inviting. Just utterly delicious. The last time I ever made tapioca, it had been more then 5 or 6 years. I had bought some coconut milk for something..but couldn't remeber what for. So I came across this recipe and to my delight...this was. I did replace the sugar with a sub and it still worked out well. This made me happy happy as we at it hot. Eating it cold the next day. Not wise....I refrigerated the leftover portion from a double and well, that didn't go over well, trying to get it out of the bowl the next day. Note to all. Don't double the batch for leftovers. It gels so bad, it's like Jello, it won't spoon to dish out easily at all and the texture is not pleasing. I'll make this again. But only 1 batch and not 2. We won't keep the leftovers on this dish due to what happens when you refrigerate it. For a hot instant pudding, this is it all the way. For a pudding to make and eat when cold....not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Super yummy! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
My whole family absolutely loved this. The egg made it nice an creamy and the coconut flavor was not overwhelming. This is sure to become a family favorite. I didn't have quick cooking tapioca pearls so they were a bit firm but I'll know better and soak them next time. My family didn't even notice. They were too busy licking their bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Yummy! tapioca is one of my favorite desserts and coconut makes everything better! I didn't use the egg, just cooked it a little longer and it got nice and thick. It was good warm and cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Tapioca Pudding is a Brazilian traditional dessert. We like to use condensad milk instead of sugar. and always in the top of it, grated fresh coconut or no sugar add dry coconut. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Márcia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Governador Valadares, Minas Gerais, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States