Coconut Sour Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
10 people in my office just told me that this is one of the best cakes I've ever made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I was trying to recreate a sour cream coconut cake I had at a Greek restaurant in Atlanta. This is it! Yum!!! I did have a slice right after I got done making it, but something magical does happen after the 1-3 days of refrigeration. You will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
My dad is diabetic and he really likes coconut, so I thought I'd try to make this recipe as sugar free as I could for Father's Day. I used a reduced sugar yellow cake mix (1/2 sugar, 1/2 splenda - couldn't seem to find a white cake mix like that). I also added coconut extract instead of almond to the cake mix. For the frosting, I used just a cup of Splenda instead of sugar and found sugar-free Cool Whip. I mixed the sour cream, sugar and coconut and let it sit in the fridge while the cake baked and cooled. I don't often use coconut, so I forgot about it being sweetened until I was adding some around the sides of the cake! Whoops! I also toasted a bit of coconut for the top of the cake. My dad said it was really good and asked for a second piece!!! He licked the plate clean both times, so I'd say it was a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I'm only rating this 3 stars because my sister made it following the recipe to the letter and it was just so-so. There was a lot left over after a family gathering. I tweaked it by replacing the almond extract with coconut extract and using fresh coconut. Toasted additional coconut and pressed it around the sides of the cake, and garnished the top with a pineapple ring and coconut. It was a major hit with family and friends. No one would believe it was the same cake my sister had made earlier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDK999

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I made this to take to a family function and everyone really liked it. I split the layers using dental floss, that worked really well. Also when filling between the layers keep in mind that you can use 1/3 of the sour cream mixture, I was thinking 1/4 and ended up with too much at the end as the cool whip mixture takes care of the top. I used light sour cream & light cool whip with good results, I agree with a previous reviewer that white cake mix is a must. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Very good & simple, Super Moist & flavorful. Only used an 8oz tub of cool whip instead of 16oz. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Delicious! Everyone at work loved the cake. I work with very health-conscious people, and even they gobbled it down. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
For an amazing fresh coconut taste, use fresh frozen coconut instead of the flaked coconut. (Tropic Isle is the only brand I have found.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I made this cake for my husband's birthday, and he doesn't like coconut. So, instead of using coconut, I used finely shaved chocolate. It was perfect! I served it at his party and it was definitely a hit. It is a very rich, but very moist. The whipped cream is meant to be an 8 oz. container, not a 16 oz. container, I think. 16 oz. would have been way too much. I will definitely make this cake again! It was really easy, and very aesthetically pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
very good recipe, the almond flavor is a great addition, wonderful blend of flavors. Made this for a birthday party and got several compliments, there were no leftovers! Only thing I would change is I used lowfat sour cream which was a bit runny, but it was fine once it sat in the fridge, will use regular sour cream next time. Lowfat cool whip was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States