Coconut Sour Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I had heard about coconut cake before but never tried. This was my first try and I have realized I have missed out on something divinely delicious. I followed the instructions exactly and even my husband, who usually does not like coconut at all, gave it a thumps up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rcook
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I made this for a party and my friends loved it, however I gave it 4 stars because the cake part was so crumbly that I wasn't able to cut it into layers (so it was just two layers instead of 4). The cake mix I used called for just egg whites, so I think next time I would use whole eggs to make it hold together better. It was very well received, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by doc2813
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
have to go five stars even though after the first cake the last step becomes impossible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doc2813

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bulls Gap, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Used applesauce in place of oil for the cake mix, only used 1/2 tsp almond extract, but added another 3/4 tsp of coconut extract. 8oz tub of cool whip is plenty and used fat-free. Also used light sour cream and only 1/4 cup of sugar, and sweetened coconut flakes and this was plenty sweet. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
good, but not remarkable. i think i'm just not too big on the cool whip flavor. coworkers really liked it though, and it was way easier to make than some of the other coconut cake recipes ive seen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYSMILEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Made this last night for a BBQ! Even the whiners who said "yuck coconut" inhaled it! I used 8 oz of whipped topping and it made the icing thicker, less runny. Next time I am going to sprinkle some roasted pecans on top! This was a definite success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I too have been making this cake for years. I cut down on the sugar and make 5 to 6 layers so I never have any frosting left! Use the frozen coconut to keep it from being too sweet and after you frost the cake pat more coconut on top and around the sides, wrap in saran wrap and put it in the refrigerator for 3 days. Awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
This recipe is incredible. I make it every year for Mother's Day because my mom and I are both coconut lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This cake is one of my favorites, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I love this moist cake. I think of it for Easter, but it is good for any special occasion. It is also good made with a chocolate cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cheyenne Wells, Colorado, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States