Coconut Shrimp II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
This was truly as good (if not better) than any restaurant. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2000
Everyone loved them and it was easy to make. I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
My family loves these and the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I made these to bring to a dinner party and everyone went crazy over them. I don't eat shrimp myself, so I served them without tasting them, but I was told that they were better than any coconut shrimp anyone had ever tasted. I cooked them before we left the house and put them in a covered glass cake pan and then heated them in the oven at 350F for about 4-5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Awesome! We will definitely make this again. We did not have marmalade so we mixed together honey, horseradish and mustard for the sauce and it turned out yummy. The batter was really thick so I added 1/4 cup more beer. I used light beer but I can't imagine that would make the batter thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Great! Make with a cream of coconut bechemel (duck sauce is good too, steamed rice, cooked carrots and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was wonderful. Very easy to make. I found a bottle of horseradish mustard combined at Wal-Mart and I used 12 Tbsp. I also used about 1/2 c. or more of the beer. 1/3 c. wasn't quite enough. I had also only used 1/2 lb. of large shrimp and the recipe barely made enough batter(flour, baking powder.... mixture) to cover all of the shrimp. If you plan to use a whole pound of large shrimp, you may want to double the recipe. This recipe really is great!!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
hubby loved with cocktail sauce. I took the tails off and used med shrimp. For a 1/2 lb, I used 3/4 c flour, 1/4 t baking powder and paprika, no curry powder (hubby does not like it), 1/8 t salt and cayenne, 3/4 c beer. I did put the coconut in my mini chopper and had no problem with it sticking to the shrimp. You must heat the oil, I did for 10 minutes and for people with out a therm, 375 on my gas stove was a lil above medium. To reheat, 350 in oven for 5 minutes. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
A little twist on the usual coconut shrimp I make from this site which is also fabulous. Before you dredge your shrimp into the flour, make sure you dry them well with paper towels. I used pineapple marmalade for this and once coated with the coconut, we let them sit for fifteen minutes before we started the frying process. We made thirty skewers with three shrimp on each and my company couldn't get them into their mouths fast enough. This was an appy and I'm sad to say there were no leftovers! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I made it last night for a progressive dinner. I made 50 shrimp but doubled the batter recipe and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States