Coconut Shrimp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I made these last night and my boyfriend and I loved them! I don't have a deep fryer though so I just put oil covering bottom of a pan and fried for about 3 mintues then flipped for another 3 mintues. A great sauce to go w/ them is 1 cup mangno chunty, 1 cup honey, 1/2 cup djion mustard, and 4 drops of hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Fantastic appetizer! I love this taste! Yummy! I love Almond fried shrimp recipe as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
tried it! loved it! everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Yummy!! Will make again for sure. Also I think adding a 1/2 teaspoon of salt to the batter would've made it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats that Burning smell?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This is a great basic recipe for coconut shrimp. Few things I want to point out due to the bad reviews,,,, Season your flour. The purpose of the flour is that it makes the batter stick. I recommend chilling the batter in the fridge before dipping. This helps it set up and will help it stick to the shrimp. Remember, you don't need to cake on the coconut, so don't waste to much time fiddling with the shrimp. Chilling the shrimp after being dipped is a must. The whole dipping and prepping the shrimp to cook can be done the day before, or if its a weekend, do it in the morning time. I made two batters, one with the beer, and one with coconut milk that some reviewers used. Ended up liking the coconut milk mixture best, added a teaspoon of baking soda though to help it fluff, with the beer one, the fizz helps it fluff already. With the left over beer batter, I made onion rings. Also, I seasoned the beer batter with some salt and other spices for the rings. I only fry once in awhile, so when I do it, I Really do it. To serve the shrimp, I used a sweet chili dipping sauce that I bought at the store. Its sweet and has just enough of a bite. Gives it a bit of a thai zing. It was a hit at my cocktail party, as were the rings. Don't let the shrimp overcook. Golden, not golden brown. Nothing makes shrimp bland quicker than overcooking it. This is an amazing base recipe, just remember to adjust this, or any other recipe to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellylewis

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
The flavor was good but I found it difficult to cook the shrimp wihtout burning the coconut breading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Valparaiso, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Omg! This was soooo delicious I thought it came from a restaurant! Only thing I did was season the shrimp with garlic powder, pepper, cayenne pepper creole seasoning! Everything else I followed exactly! I also used spicy orange sauce because I could not find orange marinade! Excellent! Will most definitely make again! Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This was incredibly easy to make and quick. It tasted better than ANY coconut shrimp I've had in restaurants. I added a little old bay, paprika, and coriander to the coconut flakes to give it a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Tasted like Outbacks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Made for our neighborhood block party and it was eaten up! I used Costco large tail-on pre-cooked shrimp. I specifically bought the cooked shrimp because I know coconut can burn - this way, I didn't have to worry about the shrimp not being cooked through. Pan-fried in canola oil instead of deep-frying. The only challenge was the coconut would sometimes burn if I didn't time it perfectly, but because I'd packed it so full of coconut, some of the coconut/batter wasn't quite cooked at the same time. It's an art, for sure!! My dipping sauce was apricot jam with horseradish to taste (not a fan of marmalade). I'm sure I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States