Coconut Shrimp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Lottie Gilpin Bardoel
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
They turned out very well, but were a bit bland. I would suggest maybe adding some salt to the beer batter, possibly some crushed, fresh garlic. I didn't have marmalade to make the recommended dip and used Frank's Sweet Chili dipping sauce, which was good. My son squeezed fresh lemon juice on his and that was good too. They need something to contrast with the sweetness of the coconut/shrimp. Sour or spicy works nicely. I didn't follow this recipe exactly, rather the video that accompanies it. I didn't put flour in the beer batter bowl, only in the first for the dredge and mixed with the coconut, which worked beautifully. This was the only change I noted from the original recipe. I would recommend a deep fryer as I tried a pot with oil and a candy thermometer, but I had a hard time keeping the temperature constant. I will try pan frying next time and/or baking in the oven. I don't think I would mix flour with the coconut if baking them, as I have found that the flour in the third/outer coating doesn't brown when making chicken wings and stays white, which doesn't look appealing (doesn't affect the taste). I have never tried beer batter before but I will definitely be using it from now on, rather than milk/egg. I used Alexander Keith's Red Amber Ale. I would rate higher if the shrimp had more flavour. It is a great recipe to play with to get your own signature taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lottie Gilpin Bardoel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
My husband loved these! He ate a whole batch by himself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was easy and delicious!! I did follow advise from others and chilled the batter that I made in the morning and it worked great. We deep fried the shrimp and had no problem with the batter coming off. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Perfect! I used a frying pan to cook the shrimp. I only used about a 1/4 in. of oil. I used Modelo for the beer batter; it didn't leave an aftertaste. The shrimp was great even without dipping sauce. I'm never buying the frozen version again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Wonderful. I made a few adjustments to make it gluten free. Instead of beer I used tropical juice and gluten free flour. They were delicious. My daughter loves coconut shrimp but her wheat allergy meant she couldn't have any in restaurants. She will love these when I serve them New Year's. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Tried this recipe for the first time for Girl's night. Everyone was ranting and raving about them and asked me to bring them next time!!! Great and easy to follow recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Added some cayenne to the flour as others suggested, and just used frozen easy-peel shrimp. Tasted just like those you get in a restaurant, and were the first appetizer gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
These are THE BOMB! Flavorful and filling. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Oh my these turned out delicious! I highly recommend this delicious coconut shrimp recipe. I will be making these again very soon. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pastrychef28

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
possibly the best coconut shrimp i have EVER tasted. this will be a staple party appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimblyn Horton Begonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States