Coconut Shrimp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I haven't made this recipe as of yet, but was thinking using a flavored beer such as raspberry wheat or strawberry by Shock Top. Will post results this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Love, love, loved it. Like so many others, I pan fried them. Fridge or freezer a must. Also added the 1/2 c coconut, sugar and salt to the batter. Sticking not really a problem as long as your pan is HOT. Only flip them once as too much man handling makes for naked shrimpies. Sauce is to die for. We had some Jasmine rice and Asparagus on the side - kids loved it too (It's a miracle!). The only negative IMHO is time. Put aside a fair amount of time. It took me closer to 1.5 hr in all. Maybe I'm just a slow poke. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Truly delicious exactly as the recipe written. Wouldn't change a thing! I had a variety of dipping sauces but people seemed to like dipping it in the store bought sweet chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BenzAMG32

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I thought this was a great recipe and the shrimp turned out great. However it seemed to lack something. A spice or something because it just tasted a bit bland. Other than that, I would make this again but figure out what I need to add to give it a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indian River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Simply amazing!!! Better than Margarita Ville!! The coconut shrimp was a big hit and I cant wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I made this for guests last weekend and they were in love with the shrimp made this way. Actually... they thought it was better than Outback!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Yummy. These turned out great made just as noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Q
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
We love these! Suggestion before battering: split the coconut in two batches reserving half. After dipping several shrimp in the coconut, it starts to soak up too much of the liquid from the beer and egg mixture and it makes it harder to stick to the shrimp. So about half way through the battering process replenish the coconut with a dry batch reserved. Also recommend splitting the battered shrimp in half so that when frying half can stay cold in the fridge while frying up the first half. Less chance of batter falling off during the frying process. Thanks LindaV10. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
First time making coconut shrimp at home... Normally just go to Red Lobster. Loved the recipe and was very easy. Went ahead and took the tails off so we could pop them in our mouth. Instead of regular beer, I used Red's Apple Ale to give it a little more "island flavor" which worked wel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
My husband and I just made this tonight. It was very good. So good that we are entering it into our recipe folder - and that's a big recommendation from us. We have just renovated our kitchen and have a built in fryolator ( my husband's idea). The recipe is easy and straightforward. We did only use about half of the batter called for. We didn't even make a sauce. The coconut shrimp are so full of flavor and texture, none is required. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States