Coconut Shrimp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This recipe is truly amazing and the coconut shrimp were the best I've ever tasted! The recipe is simple and the end result spectacular. The only change I made was salting w/sea salt after the shrimp came out of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandyEngland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Roughly followed the recipe- so delicious. Do NOT need to deep fry- I shallow fried the shrimp in a little coconut oil in a cast iron skillet. YUM. Could also use a little seasoning- every step you dip the shrimp should have a dash of salt in it. Season every layer! Used the shrimp in Banh-Mi- french bread, fresh cilantro, scallions, carrots, apricot sauce, mayo, sriracha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Quick, easy and delicious! The dipping sauce sounds like a strange combination but it is perfect with these shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Hooey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waupaca, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
OMG. This was so good and I'm such a shrimp lover that left overs were eaten straight from the refrig!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This dish is delicious! I made this with 1 lb. jumbo shrimp. It was easier with larger shrimp. My husband doesn't always want coconut so I used Panko bread crumbs for his portion and it makes a beautiful golden coat. There is never any food leftover. Our guests loved it made with coconut and with substitution of bread crumbs. I use a mini deep fryer with canola oil and drop them for 2-2:15 minutes at a time or coconut starts to over cook. So good I don't need another fried shrimp recipe ever again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LottieB
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
They turned out very well, but were a bit bland. I would suggest maybe adding some salt to the beer batter, possibly some crushed, fresh garlic. I didn't have marmalade to make the recommended dip and used Frank's Sweet Chili dipping sauce, which was good. My son squeezed fresh lemon juice on his and that was good too. They need something to contrast with the sweetness of the coconut/shrimp. Sour or spicy works nicely. I didn't follow this recipe exactly, rather the video that accompanies it. I didn't put flour in the beer batter bowl, only in the first for the dredge and mixed with the coconut, which worked beautifully. This was the only change I noted from the original recipe. I would recommend a deep fryer as I tried a pot with oil and a candy thermometer, but I had a hard time keeping the temperature constant. I will try pan frying next time and/or baking in the oven. I don't think I would mix flour with the coconut if baking them, as I have found that the flour in the third/outer coating doesn't brown when making chicken wings and stays white, which doesn't look appealing (doesn't affect the taste). I have never tried beer batter before but I will definitely be using it from now on, rather than milk/egg. I used Alexander Keith's Red Amber Ale. I would rate higher if the shrimp had more flavour. It is a great recipe to play with to get your own signature taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LottieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
My husband loved these! He ate a whole batch by himself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was easy and delicious!! I did follow advise from others and chilled the batter that I made in the morning and it worked great. We deep fried the shrimp and had no problem with the batter coming off. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States