Coconut Shrimp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
We love love love this recipe. Usually I follow it to the tee but I didn't have beer this last time I made it so I used root beer and it was still so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Wow. This shrimp recipe was the hit of my party. I made the dip that was in the description. I can't say that these lasted more than three minutes. I didn't change a thing about it. I highly recommend both the shrimp and dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I haven't made this recipe as of yet, but was thinking using a flavored beer such as raspberry wheat or strawberry by Shock Top. Will post results this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Love, love, loved it. Like so many others, I pan fried them. Fridge or freezer a must. Also added the 1/2 c coconut, sugar and salt to the batter. Sticking not really a problem as long as your pan is HOT. Only flip them once as too much man handling makes for naked shrimpies. Sauce is to die for. We had some Jasmine rice and Asparagus on the side - kids loved it too (It's a miracle!). The only negative IMHO is time. Put aside a fair amount of time. It took me closer to 1.5 hr in all. Maybe I'm just a slow poke. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Truly delicious exactly as the recipe written. Wouldn't change a thing! I had a variety of dipping sauces but people seemed to like dipping it in the store bought sweet chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BenzAMG32

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I thought this was a great recipe and the shrimp turned out great. However it seemed to lack something. A spice or something because it just tasted a bit bland. Other than that, I would make this again but figure out what I need to add to give it a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indian River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Simply amazing!!! Better than Margarita Ville!! The coconut shrimp was a big hit and I cant wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I made this for guests last weekend and they were in love with the shrimp made this way. Actually... they thought it was better than Outback!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Yummy. These turned out great made just as noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Q
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
We love these! Suggestion before battering: split the coconut in two batches reserving half. After dipping several shrimp in the coconut, it starts to soak up too much of the liquid from the beer and egg mixture and it makes it harder to stick to the shrimp. So about half way through the battering process replenish the coconut with a dry batch reserved. Also recommend splitting the battered shrimp in half so that when frying half can stay cold in the fridge while frying up the first half. Less chance of batter falling off during the frying process. Thanks LindaV10. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States