Coconut Shrimp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
WE LOVED THIS RECIPE! Living in the South, we have access to fresh shrimp all the time. Coconut Shrimp had always been on my list of thing to try at home and I am so glad I did. I followed recipe to a T and while it was a bit messy and slightly time consuming...it was 110% worth it. I will be making again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This is my go-to recipe for coconut shrimp. It is delicious! Every time I make it I have people asking for the recipe. I make a sweet and spicy honey butter sauce to go along with it. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Canaveral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Amazing! I had this recipe made in a quaint sea-food shack up in Montreal and it turned me on to fried shrimp! I finally worked up the nerve to try it myself and OHMYGOD it was better than the Oyster Shack's!! LOVE this recipe! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
This was very good!!! I used chicken instead of shrimp, and it was delicious, my kids devoured it. I also added some cayenne pepper to the flour, and used a sweet chile sauce for dipping. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Outstanding, I might be going to Outback a little less often now. Came out perfect the first time, unlike all the other recipes I've tried, thanks! I used 16-20 per lb. shrimp, Fat Tire Amber Ale and I broke open a fresh coconut and hand grated the longest fattest coconut flakes I could which made for and extra crispy nutty coconut far superior to what you get out of a bag. I used the recommended orange marmalade, horseradish & mustard dip. I may try a few others including a sweet chili sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
These were really good! I used low fat coconut milk instead of beer in the batter and then pan fried the shrimp instead of deep frying. I dipped them in a sweet chili sauce which was also really good. The only caveat was that if I had not used the dipping sauce, I feel like the shrimp would have needed a little something extra in them, maybe something to add a little kick. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Yummy but rich so make a few and try freezing the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litsa DeCoster

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
everyone raved about it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
MMM!! Heaven sent! I have been longing for coconut shrimp (live out-of-the-country) and this recipe went beyond my expectations! I used Kona Fire Rock (Hawaiian beer) and added a little bit of black pepper and parsley to the batter. I used canola oil for frying and added in some coconut oil to enhance the taste (amazing!). I also made the suggested dipping sauce and it was fantastic! I had 6 guests over on Good Friday and they all raved about the shrimp! Thank you for a great contribution. I think I'll make this my Good Friday tradition. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolishK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Much better than some of the known chain restaurants... highly unlikely that there will be any left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States