Coconut Shrimp I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
These were really good! I used low fat coconut milk instead of beer in the batter and then pan fried the shrimp instead of deep frying. I dipped them in a sweet chili sauce which was also really good. The only caveat was that if I had not used the dipping sauce, I feel like the shrimp would have needed a little something extra in them, maybe something to add a little kick. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Yummy but rich so make a few and try freezing the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
everyone raved about it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
MMM!! Heaven sent! I have been longing for coconut shrimp (live out-of-the-country) and this recipe went beyond my expectations! I used Kona Fire Rock (Hawaiian beer) and added a little bit of black pepper and parsley to the batter. I used canola oil for frying and added in some coconut oil to enhance the taste (amazing!). I also made the suggested dipping sauce and it was fantastic! I had 6 guests over on Good Friday and they all raved about the shrimp! Thank you for a great contribution. I think I'll make this my Good Friday tradition. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolishK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Much better than some of the known chain restaurants... highly unlikely that there will be any left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Made this recipe last night...it was delicious! I didn't change a thing. The dip is good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Sorry for not liking it, too sweet, no flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beirut, Beirut, Lebanon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This is a great and easy recipe. letting the shrimp sit in the freezer for 10 mins or in the refrigerator is a great idea, that allows for the batter and the coconut to stay on the shrimp while frying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I was a bit confused when I made this. The video instructions differ from the written instructions, but I combined them and it was an amazing hit. I made the beer batter as per the written instructions, but added a bit of flour to the coconut as per the video instructions. The batter was perfect. I had no problems with the coconut sticking. It was a fabulous flavour. Thanks for a great recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Both my husband and I loved this. I sautéed the shrimp in coconut oil rather than deep fry them. I did refrigerate the batter for a couple of hours and, once it was on the shrimp, refrigerated again for 30 minutes. I had no problem with the batter adhering to the shrimp. I had shrimp and batter left over but no more coconut, so I made shrimp cocktail with the remaining shrimp and served it cold with cocktail sauce. It was a very shrimpy dinner for two nights in a row. I will definitely be making these again when my son visits as it is one of his favorite foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Summerfield, Florida, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States