Coconut Sevai (Rice Noodles) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
this was sooo good! i didnt add the lentils but i dont think it made a difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ramya
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Just wanted add a note that many times in Indian cooking, dry uncooked lentils like urad daal and chana daal is used as a seasoning. Also the rice noodles is cooked in a similar fashion like author mentioned. The way I make it is , I let the water boil for 10 mins and then put the noodles in it and turn off flame and let it sit for 5-10 mins until its al-dente. There wont be any more cooking, just mixing of these noodles and the rest of the seasoning. This is such a quick recipe to make. There are lime and plain versions of these noodles I make along with the coconut type.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Very tasty thing :) It works well with coconut milk also. Regards, eshkolit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
I like this recipe. I did not get the lentils thing though. USE COOKED LENTILS!! I could not find black mustard seed so I used regular mustard seed and that was fine. I omitted the seeds from the whole chilies because I do not like really hot food. The temp was great! I may substitute a cooked chicken breast next time. Very fast and interesting! Glad I was brave enough to be the first to try it! Thanks so much Vaish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEART2HAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
My father in law said this was good. He never says anything, so I think that's a good sign. Someone said some OXO would go a long way. I disagree. This is a good eastern dish. If you're looking for somehting american, this isn't it. I read that the coconut wasn't very strong so I used the 3/4 cup shredded coconut and instead of adding 1/4 cup water when you stir fry the noodles I used 1/4 cup coconut milk. I thought this made it perfect. Remember that asian/rice/bean thread starch noodles cook really fast. I bring my water to a boil and then add the noodles, cooking them for only 1-1.5 minutes. At first the seasoning seem far too little for the amount of noodles called for but it worked great for me. Thanks for posting this! I wish there were more asian recipes for rice noodles on here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
The mustard seed was a bit crunchy for my taste - maybe needs to be toasted longer?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Great recipe, but ingredients really should state pre-cooked lentils so only 4 stars. I know the description states "may not be wholly American!" but even so the lentils will need to be cooked beforehand as the recipe does not have you cooking them. If your mustard seeds have been toasted long enough, they will begin to pop (similar to how popcorn pops) and will be not so crunchy when chewing. I should also note that I've made this a couple times now and though the first time I used sweetened coconut (was all I had on hand), the second time I used unsweetened shredded coconut and it was much, much better in my opinion. All the shredded coconut you can get in most US grocery stores is sweetened since we only use it for desserts. Unsweetened can be purchased at most any Indian or Polynesian market as well as most general Asian markets here in the US. Using the unsweetened versus the American style sweetened coconut makes a world of difference in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Had I read the review prior to trying this I would have known to first precook the lentils...raw lentils don't stir-fry they turn into little tiny stones, even had I not made the critical error the recipe didn't bring enough coconut flavor for me, if I made again might add some coconut milk or cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Cajon, California, USA
Living In: Lakeport, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Pre-cooking the lentils is a MUST. Also, we used less peanuts than the recipe called for and it still seemed too peanut-y. I would halve that amount for a good balance. We used coconut milk (about a half cup) instead of the flakes (what we had in the pantry). It still needed a lot of sweet chili sauce to make it taste like anything more than peanuts with a hint of coconut. It could have been more healthy--> more lentils, more greens, maybe spinach or something? A bit of bullion could also go a long way with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Thought this was pretty tasty. Nice with a squeeze of fresh lime, too! I have a friend from India that I will share this recipie with to see if she has any suggestions or a variation that she uses. I always enjoy reading reviews on this website but on this recipie...I gotta say...C'mon, people! Seriously...you people cook out there or you wouldn't be on this site...you didn't REALLY think that the submitter of this recipie meant for us to add uncooked lentils to the dish? DUH! Lentils, while fast cooking, must be simmered and not simply stir fried with spices & coconut to be edible! As with all recipies, you sometimes need to use common sense. Don't bash the recipie, just read it carefully and THINK about how the ingredients/cooking method will produce the finished product. If it doesn't make sense to you, adjust accordingly! These are the kitchen experiences that make you a better...and more confident...cook! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States