Coconut Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Even after 24 hrs this "dough" was still wet, sticky, and inedible. After crushing and adding an ADDITIONAL box of wafers, they were fine. Seriously: how did these work out for so many other cooks? Other coconut rum ball recipes include an entire box of confectioners sugar. That would have fixed the consistency, but really: they were YUMMY and less sweet w/double the wafers instead. My suggestion: make them with extra wafers and sugar on hand, and far enough ahead of schedule to tinker with this recipe. With all good ingredients and no baking, these will end up fine if you can achieve the proper consistency. But this recipe, as written, did not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
GORGEOUS, GORGEOUS, GORGEOUS!!! These are a big hit! The balls themselves are nice, but dipping them in chocolate takes them to a whole new level of DELISH. I did some of them with the powdered sugar, some with white chocolate, some with milk chocolate and some are double-dipped... heh-heh-heh. :) I used coconut rum which is excellent and doubled it (1/2c.), because they were otherwise looking too dry. Lastly, I used a mixture of nuts - almonds, pecans & walnuts. I think this recipe just made the cut for an annual holiday fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I made these several days ago for all my neighbor's Christmas treat plates.....they are the best rum balls I've had and the neighbors want more!!! Very addictive and hard to resist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I took these to my family's Christmas get-together this weekend & was told many times that they "are the best rumballs I've ever had!" Didn't change a thing because the recipe is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I made these this year to include in my cookie swap and these are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I made these last year and they were a big hit, My family has asked me to make them again this year for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
these are VERY sweet and not rum-my enough for my taste...they LOOK great but i think i used far more than 1/8 c of confec.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
My first batch was for my daughter's bake sale and they sold out instantly. I'm on my way to make another batch for ANOTHER bake sale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
Recipe came out good but needed a bit more rum. I put in 1/2 cup coconut rum and they were still a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
This recipe was easy and delicious. I agree that they only improve with age. I could not make enough of them to satisfy the crowd at work. Definitely a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States