Coconut Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by belle
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
These were awesome! I love making rum balls, they are just as yummy as cookies but a lot easier. First I made the chocolate rum balls from allrecipes and they were so good I made more along with these. I think the coconut rum balls were a little better than the chocolate ones. But, I love white chocolate and these had more of a white chocolate flavor to them. After I made them I rolled some in toasted coconut, some in powdered sugar and some in melted white chocolate chips. I would not recommend dipping them in the chocolate, it made them overly sweet. I will definitely make these again come Christmas time as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This is a gorgeous recipe, but after much debate with my husband, I used white chocolate crushed into bits and sultanas instead of walnuts and coconut. Also, I added 2 tablespoons of cocoa to give them a bitter sweet chocolate taste along with the rum. So rich and yum. Will definately make this again. 14 ounces of condensed milk was too much for my wafer biscuits, so I used two thirds but added it carefully and mixed as I went to check consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
TO DIE FOR!! these were wonderful, i didn't change a thing. so rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Very Good!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
These are the very best rum balls you will ever taste. My sis-in-law makes them every year for Christmas and we all go crazy. They are good right out of the freezer too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I followed the recipe exact and everone loved them. Many in my family said they were pretty strong, just how they like them. I did leave them set for a while for the flavors to mingle. Great, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This is an excellent recipe for the holidays. They got rave reviews from everyone who tasted them, and they are very easy to make. I used pecans and cheap rum. The rum taste is not noticeable. Next year I may try adding just a few Tablespoons more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
A winner!! This is a quick, easy holiday cookie. I took some to work and gave some to friends. They were a smash hit! I used pineapple rum and doubled the amount (1/2 c.) I used almonds instead of walnuts and chopped them very fine in an electric chopper. I also let these cookies set for a week in an airtight container before serving. For those who had trouble with a sticky consistency, I would suggest measuring your coconut packed. I did so and even though I added an additional 1/4 c. rum, the consistancy was still perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I agree with another reviewer who needed to add an additional package of wafers. The recipe as is left the balls very tasty but soggy. Make sure you have extra wafers on hand and they should turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I made these for a party and they were a hit - at least with the people who had a huge sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States