Coconut Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by momx3pcm
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
My son has milk, egg, peanut, and tree nut allergies. I made this cookie as an alternative to the ones with egg in it. THEY WERE AWESOME! I couldn't tell the difference between the typical sugar cookie and these. Of course we did leave out the nuts and coconut. We rolled them out and used a heart shaped cookie cutters and decorated them with frosting and sprinkles. Thank you sooooo much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Belle Plaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
My oven quit and I had to do cookies. Found this recipe and the comment about not needing to bake them. Was afraid they would taste of raw flour, so I browned the flour in my old dutch oven on top of the stove, mixed the lot and even stirred in half a cup of peanut butter instead of a whole cup of butter, on the second batch. Doubled the vanilla, and put some cinnamon on the second batch, as well as making little balls and squashing them flat. Kudos from everybody and lots of requests for my "seat of the pants recipe".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Excellent and easy recipe. My son can't have nuts and won't eat cherries but even without these the cookies were great. Next time I will use an extra tbs milk as they were slightly crumbly to slice. The golden baked cookies were lovely and chewy and the darker baked cookies were lovely and crisp. Win win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Really good cookies! I made a variation, since 1 c butter seemed heavy- I used 1/2 c vegan margarine (smart balance light) and 1/2 cup applesauce (unsweetened). They turned out great! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
What a nice change of pace. The coconut influence is enjoyable. I didn't have candied fruit in the house, so I just used walnuts. Then after cutting into slices I sprinkled the remaining coconut on the top of each cookie. I also added a tiny bit more milk based on a prior comment. The dough was easy to handle and get into the 3 rolls. I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindypray

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
These were very good! I did make some changes, though because I didn't have all the ingredients on the list. I used splenda, walnuts and dried berries (cranberries, cherries and blueberries). I reconstituted the berries in warm water for several minutes to plump them up. I did have to add a splash more milk because the dough was a bit crumbly. Also, I didn't want to wait to chill them, the oven was already hot from baking biscuits. So, I just pinched off a chunk of dough, rolled it into a ball, them smushed the ball flat, patted it on both sides with the cocounut and baked. Next time I'll chill the bowl of dough in the freezer for about 10 min. first because the dough was a little soft, but I managed okay and they came out nicely. I would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
It was not moist enough to form three 7-inch rolls. I managed to make several smaller rolls, but a lot of it crumbled the next day as I tried to slice them. The coconut wouldn't stick to the rolls, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
My oldest daughter and her husband loved these! I had to make them several times in a row. I did make some changes though, I used half a cup brown sugar and half a cup white sugar and it worked out great. thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
These are amazing cookies and can also be served without baking. I was given this recipe from my nana, and if you like cherries you will love these cookies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States