Coconut Rice with Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
In order to get that great flavor u must cook the coconut milk for 45 mins first. I'm from the caribean. I made this small change to the recipe added, salt, escallion, garlic (crushed), butter and thyme. Cook this for an additional 5 mins. while cooking the coconut milk u must add water. It was delicious..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodside, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This was a pretty good & quick side dish- made me think of food we ate in Costa Rica, light and fresh! It went really well with the basil & lime shrimp we had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUNNY OH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This has become a favorite side dish for our family with grilled chicken or fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Similar to Rumbi Rice. Great with grilled chicken and steamed veggies in a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
A tasty quick dish with easy ingredients. I read the other reviews and used a whole can of coconut milk (didn't want to waste the other half) and about half a cup of water, plus I added a few cloves of garlic, a couple of pinches of brown sugar, pepper, salt, cinnamon, and onion powder (didn't have any shallots or onions, actually. I know, lame!) Made this before midnight after a long day and it was filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This recipe probably is very bland when made exactly as stated,but if you think of it as a base recipe and adjust to your spice preferences, it's a great start. I added chopped garlic, tumeric for color (because I don't like grey food) and ground chilli for spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I made a few changes - I used all coconut milk instead of water, which made the rice very creamy; substituted onion for the shallot b/c I didn't have one on hand; and added salt for a little more flavor. Overall, it is very good and I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I had kidney beans and I used chicken stock instead of plain water and the entire can of coconut milk. If you don't have shallots use a cup of diced onion. I like a well seasoned dish so I added kosher salt, a cup of sliced celery hearts and a large clove of garlic sauteed along with the onion,a teaspoon of sugar and a scattering of fresh rosemary and oregano. My folks mowed this down- I am still staring with utter shock at the empty pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I'm not sure what the original recipe tastes like because I took liberty with it based on the reviews and on my own creativity. The version I came up with was awesome though! I made the following modifications: I doubled the recipe for a dinner party; in place of the butter I used 1 T of stick margarine and 1 T virgin coconut oil (it is a coconut dish after all) In place of the shallot (just didn't have one) I used a small onion, also a tsp of minced garlic (the refrigerated kind in a jar) I used plain old long grain rice--I'm sure Jasmine would be awesome, just didn't have any Used the whole can of coconut milk Used two cups of chicken broth in place of the water (freshly made) I was generous with the nutmeg--two full pinches and probably 1 1/2 more or so Then I also threw in about a T of brown sugar, and additional T of coconut oil, a handful of shredded sweetened coconut and a pinch or two of sea salt Then, I used only one can of black beans and that seemed plenty for me, but more would be fine too Could have used a bit more salt, but not much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I am a fan of good, white rice. Others may consider this bland, but I would say "subtle flavors". Very, very pleasant dish! Next time I might double the scallions, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwingojr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States