Coconut Rice with Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I made this with brown rice and added garlic, salt, and pepper while it was cooking. It was still a little bland so we topped it with shredded coconut when serving and my kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I thought it was wonderful without any changes to the original recipe. Used 3 TBS cream of coconut with 3/4 water to replace the coconut milk (that was all I coud find at the store). I will make many times ! Thanks for the easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Delicious once you add some salt and sugar to taste :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
With a few extras, it turned out nicely! The recipe definitely needs salt, and I added garlic and pepper. I cooked the beans separately, and used an entire red onion which added a lot of flavor. Next time I'll try a bouillon cube and some cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I rated it only 4 stars because I made some additions as suggested by other reviewers: garlic, thyme and chicken bouillon. To the leftovers the following day, I added chopped and cooked onions, celery and chicken. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I make this in the rice cooker and my boyfriend loves it. He asks for it frequently. I always load it with green onions too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kwaggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I loved it LOVED IT. I forgot to add the water and it was still awesome. I must admit I love the fragrance just as much as the dish itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Sounds a lot more interesting than it actually is -- I ended up with a kind of tasteless glop, but maybe that's just my cooking skills. Maybe some feta would help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I used this recipe to try to make Rumbi rice. I added a little sugar to the rice while it was cooking then added grilled chicken and teriyaki sauce with the black beans. It was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer K.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Alway looking for interesting ways to add a starch to my meals...this was delicious and even had it for breakfast the next day. Paired it with Macadamia encrusted Scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexico, Maine, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States