Coconut Rice with Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Nice side with spicy jerked chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cucina di papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Newton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Very nice, mild flavor. Rice came out nice and fluffy. A crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This dish was bland, it needs something else to waken up the flavor. I would have to tweak the recipe if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Good recipe. I added pumpkin pie spice, salt, crushed red pepper flakes, and a little bit of black pepper. Delicious. I might even add a habenero pepper next time for more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natali

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I used instant brow rice as I was running short on time and it was still good. I also used lite coconut milk, I think next time I will use 1 cup lite coconut milk and 3/4 cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I added a little bit of brown sugar to give it more of a sweet flavor. Next time I will add more coconut milk to make the rice less dry and a little creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Following an earlier recommendation, I added garlic to the recipe and it totally worked wonders. I substituted the butter with canola oil and the nutmeg with cinnamon which I've got to say made all the difference. My boyfriend could not stop eating this dish,have to make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Really nice, easy recipe! I made it as is, and it was a lovel complement to the more complicated dish with which it was served. Yes, perhaps slightly bland, but it worked really well with the flavors of main dish without competing or overpowering. It could easily be jazzed up with whatever you want—garlic, more spices, more chopped veggies, even add meat or other protein to make it a meal of its own, but then it becomes a whole new recipe. . . If you're looking for an easy rice dish (that appears to be more "fancy" than just plain ol' rice! Impress your friends!) to complement a Mexican or even Middle Eastern entree, or as a base to build on for a stand-alone main dish, this one works simply, beautifully! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This was incredibly delicious and quick and easy to prepare. I added a tsp sugar, some fish sauce, celery, thyme, garlic, salt and pepper, as well as some chicken. Also used the full can of coconut milk with some chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by canuckguy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Everyone, even my young teenagers, enjoyed this. I used shallots, because that is what I had, and the entire can of coconut milk instead of using the water, forgot the nutmeg - will have to remember it next time. The jasmine rice really is flavorful on its own - might need to add more spices of your liking if you are using plain white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States