Coconut Rice with Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Used other reviewer's advice and added a two cloves of minced garlic and a bit of thyme to rice before cooking. Very good, flavorful side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Tasted great. I added grated garlic, red onion, green bell peppers and a chicken cube. I also used brown rice instead. I followed the method and the rice was "mushy" so maybe its my pot. Maybe I'll try it again and hopefully get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I thought this was okay when I followed the recipe. I took some suggestions from the reviews. I used more coconut milk, less water, some chicken bouillon, minced garlic, and salt and pepper. My husband and I were not displeased but it was not our favorite thing ever. A few days later, I decided to use up the leftovers, but I wanted to work with some new flavors. I heated a little olive oil in a fry pan and sauteed 2 cloves of garlic for a bit. Next, I added a small can of green chiles, 1 tsp cumin, and more salt and pepper. After heating that through I added the leftover rice and beans. I had a little bit of pork roast leftovers as well so i chopped it into bite sizes and threw it in and cooked over medium heat until it was all heated through. We loved it! The green chiles broadened the flavor but kept that subtle sweetness that I liked about the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
In order to get that great flavor u must cook the coconut milk for 45 mins first. I'm from the caribean. I made this small change to the recipe added, salt, escallion, garlic (crushed), butter and thyme. Cook this for an additional 5 mins. while cooking the coconut milk u must add water. It was delicious..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodside, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This was a pretty good & quick side dish- made me think of food we ate in Costa Rica, light and fresh! It went really well with the basil & lime shrimp we had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUNNY OH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This has become a favorite side dish for our family with grilled chicken or fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Similar to Rumbi Rice. Great with grilled chicken and steamed veggies in a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
A tasty quick dish with easy ingredients. I read the other reviews and used a whole can of coconut milk (didn't want to waste the other half) and about half a cup of water, plus I added a few cloves of garlic, a couple of pinches of brown sugar, pepper, salt, cinnamon, and onion powder (didn't have any shallots or onions, actually. I know, lame!) Made this before midnight after a long day and it was filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This recipe probably is very bland when made exactly as stated,but if you think of it as a base recipe and adjust to your spice preferences, it's a great start. I added chopped garlic, tumeric for color (because I don't like grey food) and ground chilli for spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I made a few changes - I used all coconut milk instead of water, which made the rice very creamy; substituted onion for the shallot b/c I didn't have one on hand; and added salt for a little more flavor. Overall, it is very good and I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States