Coconut-Raisin Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Pretty good. I made some changes: Decrease milk by 1/2 c, decrease nutmeg to 1/2 t, add cinnamon 1/2 t, add ginger 1/2 t, used brown rice. Sprayed my muffin tins and used a scant 1/2 c in each cup. Made 20 servings. Next time I will serve with a carmel sauce and whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERBREAD_CA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Very hearty and tasty...I will use less sugar next time because we like it for breakfast and it does not need to be that sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Delicious! This was rich, creamy and a great twist on traditional rice pudding. I added twice the amount of coconut, half in the pudding itself and the other half on top like the recipe calls for.I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emkat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parchman, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
it was very easy, quick and tasted good.. i followed the recipe but next time i think i will add some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Just finished my first bowl of this. I'm not a rice pudding fan in general, so was apprehensive...but this was delicious. I usually find it far too sweet, so in preparation halved the amount of sugar (and used dark brown). I upped the coconut and used cinnamon and cloves instead of nutmeg. It's quite runny even after making sure the temperature was at 160 as directed, and sitting for 15 minutes before serving, so I'm hoping it firms up further as it cools. Overall...simple to make with ingredients on hand and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup based on other people's recommendations that the recipe is too sweet. The pudding was still very sweet. I think I'd reduce it to 1/2 cup next time. Also, there ended up being waaayyyy to many raisins for my preference. I think next time, I'll reduce those to 1/4 cup, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Made as written but mixed coconut in. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Excellent and easy. I've made this several times and it's as good, if not better, cold rather than warm. My grandkids had leftovers for breakfast this morning and helped make a fresh one this afternoon for a snack. We are gluten free and it's really nice to have a tasty, simple dish we all enjoy. I made it as written the first time and it was way too sweet for our taste. I now make it with 2/3 cup sugar and add the coconut to the mixture rather than putting it on top. We also prefer it with cinnamon. By spraying canola oil on the baking dish I can eliminate the butter and we actually prefer it without it. I also agree with others that the title is misleading because it doesn't have the smooth creaminess of a cooked pudding.....but it's so good who cares?! Make this today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This is a semi firm pudding that will dish up like a loose cake. Its not liquidy but doesn't need to be to be wonderful! I made it as directed except I stirred the coconut in instead of waiting to put it on top. I love coconut and this one didn't need coconut milk to have the coconut flavor i crave. I also liked that it used a lot of rice. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klfelt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Very good recipe... I added the coconut in the mixture. Well balanced. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette from Quebec, Canada

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Drummondville, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States