Coconut Pumpkin Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Altered recipe for ingredients on hand: unbleached flour, light brown sugar, sweetened coconut flakes. Texture is very pudding-like, exceedingly moist. Although it may appear the batter is uncooked when it is pulled out of the oven, it is indeed cooked. A hit even with the avowed nut haters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
loved it, however i changed it so much depending on what i had it is probably quite different than the original! i skipped the nuts, used sweetened coconut, substituted skim milk for coconut milk, and substituted libby's pumpkin pie mix (canned) for the straight pumpkin and omitted the white sugar since this mix was already presweetened! it just shows you can do a lot with what you have in your cupboard! i will definitely make this again, either in it's original version or my modified way. it was a treat, even in february!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Very good cake-like bread. Only changes I made were to use pecans instead of walnuts (what I had), to top the bread with coconut before putting it in the oven (although I'd do that about mid-way through cooking next time, the coconut turned a little too brown), and to use pumpkin pie spice in place of the nutmeg & cinnamon. The batter tasted wonderful, great smell while it was cooking, and the bread is delicious, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I didn't use coconut flakes, because I didn't have them and I don't really like coconut anyway. I made one loaf and about a dozen muffins. They were just okay, not that moist. I reheated one of the muffins in the microwave the next day, and it was actually better than those fresh out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Delicious! Everyone loved it! So moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoisington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topsham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I made this with 2c fresh pumpkin puree. It is just fabulous! I made some with walnuts and some without, and I preferred without, but I'm not a big fan of nuts to begin with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
I omitted the nuts, and this turned out to be a wonderful moist bread, but felt it was missing something in the spice department. Next time I will reduce the white sugar because I only had the sweetened coconut in the house, and probably add some ground clove. It also baked up much faster because I live above 6000 ft., so if you are high altitude I would check it at 45 - 50 minutes. However I will definitely make it again - thanks for such a quick, easy, and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
When I first made this bread, I was not very impressed. I may have over baked it using the time in the recipe. I froze it for later use. Later when I served it, it was moist and the flavors blended together wonderfully. Everone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
It tuned out ok, buy not 5 star ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WICKEDSS
Reviewed: May 5, 2005
PERFECT! Flavor is scipy and slightly exotic due to thecoconut milk. I omitted the coconut shavings (I personally don't like them), but followed the rest of the recipe. I encourage all to try this at least once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperMega

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States