Coconut Pumpkin Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Loved this, modified. Here is what I made: 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, 1 Tablespoon Flaxseed meal (acts as an egg), 1 cup packed dark brown sugar, 1/3 cup white sugar, 1 (15 ounce) can pumpkin puree, 1/2 cup vegetable oil (I used grapeseed oil), 1/2 cup applesauce, 2/3 cup coconut milk, 2 teaspoons baking soda, 1 teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg, 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon almond extract. 1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. 2. Grease and flour two 8 x 4 inch loaf pans. 3. Combine flour, flaxseed meal, sugars, pumpkin, oil, coconut milk, baking soda, salt, spices, and almond extract. Mix until well blended. Pour into prepared pans. 4. Bake for about 50 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Remove from oven. 5. Cool completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaHawley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Fabulous flavor and so moist! I noticed some people felt the need to add more spice. Do so if you like spice, but I prefer the mild spice in this recipe. If you don't like coconut, don't be turned off by the coconut milk because it doesn't give it any coconut flavor - simply omit the coconut flakes. I wonder if some people used the coconut beverage and not the canned coconut milk (because it seems many wanted to substitute regular milk and I don't think it would have any where near the same effect). Mine came out kinda falling apart, so I must have done something wrong. So I still give it a 5 because I would definitely make it again because the taste is fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Best Bread/Cake ever ! I followed exactly except for using light brown sugar instead of dark (that would be yummy too). I did decide to put it in a bunt pan, so baked at 300 for over an hour. Added some homemade carmel icing (didnt need icing but I am a sugar lover). It is to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I made these tonight as muffins. I halved the recipe and used 1/4 of the sugar, doubled the spices, unsweetened coconut milk, organic coconut (regular has propylene glycol), pecans and applesauce instead of oil. I think they came out great and still taste sweet. They are cakey, they're just sticking to the cupcake liners. I'll make these again, I like that they are vegan, even though I am not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I have made this twice now. Both times I cut the sugar and oil to almost half of what's called for and doubled the spices. I have also made it with persimmon rather than pumpkin puree. Always delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Hey Kevin ,kick- job !!! The best ever so thanks !!! Love pumkin n you took it over the top :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I cut this recipe in half to make one loaf & made some substitutions based on what I had on hand. I used spelt flour rather than all-purpose, eliminated the white sugar, flaked coconut, & nuts (bc I didn't have any) & added ~1/4cup of molasses & chocolate chips! It is super moist & I love that it is vegan. I am making it again for a potluck this weekend & am going to up the spices & perhaps add some ginger. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This is really good. A unique combination of flavors. About half-way through making it I realized that it didn't call for any eggs, which makes it great recipe for vegans! I'm not a vegan, but went ahead and finished making it. My loaves didn't rise very much. It is very moist and soft, but I can't help wondering if the addition of a couple of eggs might improve the texture even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This is a very versatile recipe! I substituted whole-wheat flour & 2 cups baked pie pumpkin, doubled the cinnamon and added 50% more nutmeg, skipped the walnuts, halved the sugars, and it was still wonderful! I am rating 4 as if I had made it as is, it would have been way too sweet for my family. It tastes like a sweet treat to us with half the sugar! Great recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
They taste wonderful! I had to add some chocolate chips though ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Malone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States