Coconut Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
Great cake! I just didn't like the glaze - I would definitely make this cake again, just using a powdered sugar glaze instead. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aubriek
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is just like my grandmother's cake with a few exceptions - her recipe calls for crisco instead of butter, buttermilk in place of the milk, more coconut extract (a tablespoon), and no nuts in the glaze. Instead, you poke holes all in the cake with a toothpick and pour the glaze on top of the cake so that as much of the glaze as possible is absorbed into the cake instead of sitting on the botth of the dish - doing it this way makes the cake supermoist and flavorful! Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aubriek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
Yum! This cake is even better the day after it's baked. The crunchiness that the glaze adds is unexpected, but welcome. Definitely a keeper. My only suggestion would be to add a little more coconut extract to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
GREAT cake! I did make some modifications to the glaze. 1/4 c. coconut rum 2 T. Butter 1 c. sugar Pour half of the glaze back into the bundt pan, put the cake back in the pan. Pour the remaining glaze over the bottom and sides of the cake. Let the cake sit in the pan for fifteen minutes or so to let the glaze soak in...invert on serving plate and VOILA....perfectly glazed cake without a ton of excess on the serving platter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2000
My whole family loved this cake. We love coconut and this just hit the spot. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pdsavoie
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This recipe turned out great! I didn't add extra coconut to the cake but I did add a little more coconut extract to the glaze. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Franklin, Georgia, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
e x c e l l a n t !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
Delicious coconut cake. It has just the right amount of sweetness and it's moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2000
This was delicious. I left out the nuts and the glaze was still wonderful. Great with fruit topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This was my very first attempt at making a pound cake and I think I chose a great recipe to start off with. This cake was enjoyed by my entire family.The walnuts, after cooking in the sugar, taste amazing by themselves and on top of the cake,,,,Homerun!!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States