Coconut Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by pdsavoie
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This recipe turned out great! I didn't add extra coconut to the cake but I did add a little more coconut extract to the glaze. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Franklin, Georgia, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This recipe makes a solid, moist pound cake. I doubled the extract because I really like the taste of coconut. The cake tastes even better the next day (if you have the patience to wait that long). It is the first pound cake I've made by myself and it turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
This is a beautiful recipe! I used olive oil instead of butter and powdered coconut instead of flaked. It had an incredible texture and was gone before I could take it out of the pan! Best served warm with a glass of milk. It's so yummy it didn't even need frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shamong, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Seogwipo, Cheju-Do, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Based on other reviews, I increased the coconut extract to 2 teaspoons and doubled the flaked coconut which I had pulsed in my food processor. It turned out incredibly delicious with nice texture. Thanks, Janie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I was concerned with this recipe, at first. I made it in a bundt pan so that I could half it and use it as a base for my daughters bunny cake. It was really hard to get out of the pan, and the half I left sitting out overnight was like a rock in the morning. I worried about what was beneath our bunny cake. But everyone raved over this cake, the cake itself not just the novelty of it. The family requested the recipe so it was a hit over here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishkill, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Excellent! I made this yesterday in loaf pans. I made four loafs and they are gone! I gave them away to family for the holiday and everyone loves it! I didn't have coconut extract so I used vanilla instead and it turned out great. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I made this for my wife and father-in-law. They both said "this is a keeper"; we all loved it. After reading other reviews, I increased the coconut extract to three teaspoons in the cake and to one and a half teaspoons in the glaze. I added ten minutes to the cooking time. Also, I browned 1/2 cup coconut in the oven broiler, then sprinkled it on top of the glaze after spreading the glaze on the cake. Thanks, Janie, "It's oh so good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Allegany, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I MADE THIS CAKE AND SPLIT THE RECIPE INTO SMALL CAKES AND A LOAF TIN. I CUT THE CAKE THAT WAS IN THE LOAF TIN IN HALF AND GAVE IT TO MY INLAWS. MY MUM IN LAW ATE ALL THAT WAS SENT IN ONE NIGHT AND THE FATHER IN LAW, WELL HE GOT NONE. AS GOOD AS HER MUM USED TO MAKE AND THE REST OF THE CAKE WELL THERE WASNT ANY LEFT SO YOU CAN TELL HOW GOOD IT WAS. I SUBSTITUTED SHREDDED COCONUT FOR DESICCATED WHICH MAKES ALL THE DIFFERENCE AND I DIDNT USE THE GLAZE. ALSO SUBSTITUTE COCONUT EXTRACT FOR VANILLA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Im on the fence with this one. Its not bad, but its not great. I doubled the amount of coconut extract and flaked coconut, but I think it needs more than that. The first bite has a mild coconut flavor, but after that its less noticeable. If I make this again, I would replace the milk with some sort of coconut milk. I think I would also add some coconut rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malaga, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
this cake did not turn out good for me. Don't know what went wrong but the cake had a hard crust on the outside and was not moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States