Coconut Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Made this cake today, It was great...just made a small change...added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract and 1/2 teaspoon of coconut extract...and instead of milk I added 1/2 cup of coconut milk......Will make this cake again and again....THANK-YOU so much....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I made this without the glaze and it was wonderful, without the extra calories. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Photo by aubriek
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is just like my grandmother's cake with a few exceptions - her recipe calls for crisco instead of butter, buttermilk in place of the milk, more coconut extract (a tablespoon), and no nuts in the glaze. Instead, you poke holes all in the cake with a toothpick and pour the glaze on top of the cake so that as much of the glaze as possible is absorbed into the cake instead of sitting on the botth of the dish - doing it this way makes the cake supermoist and flavorful! Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aubriek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Absolutely amazing!!! I made this into cupcakes and substituted roasted coconut juice for the milk in the cake. I also frosted them with a coconut buttercream. Defiantely the best cake I have made so far. Incredibly moist! Will be making it again as a birthday cake in a few weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This was awesome!! I doubled the extract for both the cake and the glaze. The only thing I substituted was rum for water in the glaze..aaaaw, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Really delicious cake. The only change I made was to use vanilla instead of coconut extract. I might try rum flavoring the next time. I served it to a group of women and needed to give out the recipe to them. It was a very moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Very crumbly, not very pretty and flavor was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I used lime zest and bacardi 151 as flavoring, and it was gone by the time lunch was over at work! Also, glazed with confectioner's sugar glaze with lime juice, zest, and bacardi. Can use lime curd as a filling, too. Love this recipe. Can be adapted for lots of variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIUKAT

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I love this recipe! It;s not difficult to make, it is moist and very delicious. I used half and half for the milk and added Vanilla rather than the coconut...did not have on hand and have not bothered buying any. I have made this cake more than four times and my family loves it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I love this recipe, moist and worth every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tfurgerson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States