Coconut Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Great Cake!!! It is IMPOSSIBLE to mess this up cake. I know... LOL After adding the coconut (and chopped walnuts) I poured the batter into the prepared pan and put it in the oven. As I was cleaning the kitchen and calculating the placement of dishes in the dishwasher, I realized I had not added the flour mixture! I grabbed it out of the oven, poured it back into the bowl, added the flour, and poured it back into the pan. It came out beautifully, moist, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Sorry this sounded like it would be moist and we LOVE coconut. I bake quite a lot what did I do but make this for Christmas Eve. I have found rating are usually right but not on this one. The taste was good but it was so dry and crumbly, when you tried to slice it --- forget it -- one big mess. One more point, I used unsweetened coconut and it was still sickly sweet. Sorry !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I made this recipe this weekend for an Easter dessert and no one could get enough!! It lasts forever and goes a long way. I have had a number of requests for the recipe already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Carolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I skipped the 6th egg and also substituted the coconut extract for more vanilla... still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I'm still working on perfecting poundcake and I'm not quite there yet. This turned out excellent - loved the coconut in it, and the texture, but still didn't rise like I wanted it to...I'm doing something wrong. We had this with lime-coconut icing, shredded coconut and fresh papaya. Thanks for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mom23boysn1girl
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Yum!!! I baked it in a bundt pan because I don't have a tube pan, but it came out just fine. I had to substitute a little bit of pumpkin cream cheese for the regular cream cheese because I ran out...and I was a little generous with the 1 tsp of coconut extract, but other than that, I followed the directions exactly. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I can't wait to bake this Thanksgiving morning! However...I'm going to substitute orange extract for the coconut extract since I'm wanting to bake an orange-coconut pound cake for my dad. I may do a lite drizzle of orange glaze over the cake when it cools, too. Will let you know how it turns out! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Mine was okay, but a little too "eggy" and not moist. It wasn't dense like most pound cakes - it was fluffier like a mix between a pound cake and an angel food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Absolutely delicious. I used 1 cup butter instead of butter/shortening combination. I also used frozen coconut which probably made it even moister and therefore required a little longer baking - about 1 hour 40 minutes. Otherwise it was GREAT!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Being the first to review this recipe I must say these are simple ingrediants and I didn't know what to expect. This is a must try and if you don't than you are losing out. Yowza! My husband said that this is the best cake that I have ever made and in fact the best cake he has ever eaten. Don't know if it was suppose to turn out the way it did but it came out with a very crusty exterior and deliciously moist interior. I used cake flour instead of reg flour and didn't have any coconut ext so I used some pina cola mix. In place of some of the reg shortening I used butter shortening. Will make again and add some walnuts to the mix. No need for any powdered sugar or icing. Scrumptious as is! Use your imagination for additional toppings. Maybe some hot fudge sauce? Thanks for helping me impress my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States