Coconut Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
Such a great cake! Rave reviews from everybody on this one. Make absolutely sure to use coconut CREAM, not coconut milk. It will be in the alcohol section. It also looks really pretty with some sliced, fresh strawberries on top. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
355 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZBMOMOF3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
This cake was delicious. I did not have a can of cream of coconut in my pantry, but I did have a can of coconut milk. I combined the coconut milk with the condensed milk in a microwave safe bowl and the mixture was a bit runny, so I added a bit of cornstarch (about 3-4T.)and simmered the 2 ingredients in the microwave for about 4 min.(stirring after 2 min.) to thicken it a bit. It worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
311 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Wow, what a great dessert! I used Devils Food instead of white cake, and added 1/2 tsp. coconut extract to the batter. I also heated up the condensed milk and coconut cream slightly so the sauce would be thinner while pouring over the cake. Poked holes using a wooden spoon handle ... the sauce absorbed right in. The cake came out light and fluffy, not soggy like I thought it would. Fabulous taste ... hubby ate 2 big pieces as soon as I finished sprinkling the coconut! Thanks for the recipe - this will definitely become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Delicious!! And fellow cooks, don't alter recipes so that they are so, so different than the original poster's and then give them a negative review! If anything, make the original recipe first...THEN tweak it if you must. Only review recipes that have been prepared as directed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Stone Strachan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
I have to admit it. The cake is pretty good. I saw the recipe and thought oh my god this looks disgusting and "white trash". But I was intrigued that the recipe recieved such high reviews and so many; so I assumed it had a cult following and I was quickly seduced -- finding myself in my local grocery store searching for the ridiculous ingredients. I made the cake and yes I have to admit again-- it is delicious and very light. It is much much better than I would have thought and it does not have that coconut tanning product taste that I find offensive. In any event, the cake, while perverse in its cult status (you should see how weird it looks in my icebox), is a winner. I altered the recipe slightly by pouring a snifter of armagnac over the top before icing it. I also used Betty Crocker yellow cake mix rather than white. GO HOME AND MAKE THIS CAKE NOW AND JOIN THE COCONUT POKE CAKE CULT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This was so easy, but I did make a few alterations. I added 2 teaspoons of coconut extract to the cake mix for a more home made taste. I also took the advice of others so I only used the cream of coconut without the sweetened condensed milk.( this was plenty moist ) I used cool whip french vanilla and topped with coconut. It was a big hit!! No one would believe that this was so easy and quick to make!! Thanks for this shorter version, it will quickly become one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grenada, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
I accidentally bought coconut mike instead of coconut cream and I actually liked it better. It wasn't as heavy as the cream! I added a bit of coconut to the cake batter before baking too. Toasting the coconut on top is a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEEZY
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Great dessert! I made this for Christmas, nervous that no one would try it and it was the first to go on the table! SO moist & sweet...everyone loved this! Must use the CREAM OF COCONUT (I buy it in the Mexican or Asian section of my food store) I also mix the coconut into the whipped cream, instead of just sprnkling it on top of the cake. I make it as a bundt cake the day before, refrigerate overnight and shave chocolate on top before serving...they love it! I also make it w/ Devil's food cake and it goes over just as well. An instant family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
It really surprised me how much I didn't like this cake. First, it was way too sweet for my tastes and second, it tasted like preservatives. I realize that the base is a box cake, but maybe if not everything came out of a can/box/tub it would taste better? I would imagine that homemade whipped cream would have made a positive difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I've made this for my husband's birthday two years in a row and he loves it! I couldn't find cream of coconut, so I just used coconut milk (coconut milk is not the juice, it's a diluted cream from the pressed flesh of the coconut). I never use cool whip because I think it tastes like chemicals, so I made real whipped cream and I also toasted the coconut. This cake is messy, but it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 557) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States