Coconut Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is super delicious! I followed the recipe as written. So easy and definitely a repeat it will be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I've made this two ways, with and without the sweetened condensed milk. Just the coconut cream is perfect. The sweetened condensed milk is not necessary at all(a bit too sweet)! I added coconut extract to the cake and the whipped cream (real not cool-whip). Very easy and a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie09
Home Town: Deerfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I love this recipe! I love these kind of cake recipes because they are so easy and so yummy! I did a few things differently-I didn't use the sweetened condensed milk because I don't think it needs it. For the topping I mixed the whipped cream with coconut cream pudding (that I made only using 1 cup of milk instead of 2) and then sprinkled more coconut on top like the recipe says. Soooo good! I think the longer it sits the better because the flavors come together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MsZabeth
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Love this recipe. Follow it exactly and it'll turn out scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I have made this cake several times and it tastes wonderful and is so easy to make. The only change I make is I use French Vanilla cake mix instead of white. I think that gives the cake extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DocChef
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Made this recipe for my DH's B-day. I couldn't find coconut cream so I used a can of coconut milk. Otherwise, I made it exactly as the recipe said. I wanted to make it into a round cake, so I used 3 8-inch cake pans, buttered the bottom of the pan and put parchment paper over it, and then buttered the parchment paper and the sides. Then I cooked all 3 cake pans in the oven until done. I quickly poked holes in them via chopsticks and poured the mixture of coconut milk and condensed milk over it (the coconut milk really thinned down the condensed milk, so I didn't need to heat it up to thin it). Then I waited for it to cool before flipping them over to assemble the birthday cake. I used a third of the whipped cream and mixed it with some coconut flakes to put in between the cake layers. It was a little scary flipping the cake over to layer them, but the parchment paper and butter really helped. It wasn't too hard to position either with the whipped cream in between the layers. Then I frosted the whole cake with whipped cream and dusted toasted coconut flakes all over. It sat in the fridge until dinner time when we enjoyed it. With coconut milk, it was a little wet at the bottom of the cake after sitting in the fridge, and it was a little too sweet for my taste. But overall, very pretty cake and overall very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This is my favorite cake! I made it as said except I toasted the coconut. Delicious! Yes, it is very sweet, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
really good a little big too sweet ill use have condensed milk and more coconut cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
yes I tried this cake. It's delicious just like it is. I was wondering if you could use frozen coconut instead of flaked. Has anyone tried it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I been making this for so very long! But instead of pouring the ingredients on top i use a baster and poke holes and then fill them with the mixture. the cake is best cold and every bite you'll get just a bit of gooeyness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 572) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States