Coconut Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Made this yesterday for a birthday, it was awesome. Everyone had a second slice! I used the Betty Crocker extra-moist white cake + the zest of 1 lime added to the batter. My grocery store didn`t have cream of coconut, so I put coconut milk in the fridge and used the thickest cream portion of it that rose to the top of the can. Scared it would be too sweet, I only used half the can of condensed milk. Lime and coconut,yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Very easy, very delicious! Everyone loved it. I made it exactly as the recipe stated, except did not use quite as much Cool Whip and coconut as was called for. I used the "creamy" style of Cool Whip. Be sure to pour the cream of coconut/sweetened condensed milk mixture very slowly over the cake - I used a large spoon to ladle it on slowly, so that it would soak evenly into the holes and not just run to the sides of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Goering

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Omg this cake is to die for! My mother in law requested I make a coconut cake and found this recipe. It was a hit with everyone that ate it. I did however use yellow cake mix and didn't put in the whole coconut cream and condensed milk mixture, just half of it. It still tasted great, I recommend everyone who loves coconut make this delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
10 STARS! My husband wanted a moist delicious coconut cake for his birthday....well, this is it! I used a butter cake mix and instead of the cup of water added coconut cream and rum flavoring. I like so many others was worried about the sweetened condensed milk and the cream of coconut....(the bottle I got was with the wines and had 21 ounces. so I used the 7 extra ounces instead of the water in the mix.) I poked the holes and poured all of the mixture over the cake...let it sit on the counter for a couple of hours and it soaked up every bit of it. I used a can of "whipped cream" icing and lots of fresh coconut which I sort of pressed into the icing. DELICIOUS!!! My husband just said I could stop making all other cakes and just make this one for every occasion. It is moist and just right....hard to believe but it's NOT too sweet! Perfect!!! Will be making this cake for the rest of my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanBow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valdosta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Very good and very moist!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This cake was delicious! I am so thankful that another reviewer mentioned that coconut cream could be found near the alcohol/cocktail mix section of the grocery store- I would never have thought to look there, but there it was! That saved me a trip to a specialty grocery store. I made this cake to take to a 4th of July BBQ and it was a huge hit! I decorated the top with strawberries and blueberries to make it look like a U.S. flag, and the berries were a nice compliment to the coconut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This was a great cake. I used the suggestion to add coconut extract and I used Cool Whip icing. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
NanaBeth is right, and why would someone change a terrific recipe. This is very good, very easy and my families favorite cake. It has been around for many years and remains to be a hit everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Easy to make, used coconut water instead of the cream, and still turned out great! Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Katosh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Excellent very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 594) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States