Coconut Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This cake is unreal delicious and moist! I didn't have coconut flavoring so I just used the sweetened condensed milk and the coconut cream and it was still nice and coconutty :) For the frosting I used the Cool Whip Frosting recipe and instead of French Vanilla pudding mix I used the Cheesescake pudding which I could have ate the whole bowl of that... I sprinkled the coconut on top and let it sit for awhile and I made more brownie points with my new Hubby!!He loved it!! This would be perfect for a shower,Easter or really any nice occasion, even those office parties!So easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I thought this would be good as a chocolate-coconut cake, and it absolutely was. The only thing I did differently was to use a devil's food cake mix and light whipped topping. I also lightly toasted the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Easy to make. I substituted 2 oz of coconut rum for water in the cake mix. Really added a great flavor to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I have used "Sweet cakes" method.. store didn't have coconut cream pudding, so I got vanilla, used french vanilla cake, and omitted the SCM, as others recommended. So far, I tasted everything before it is all put together. I have a great feeling about this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This is wonderful but I do think there is an error with this recipe. I think it should be coconut milk with sweetened condensed milk OR cream of coconut. Coconut milk is found with the Asian food section and is unsweetened. Cream of coconut is found in liquor stores and used to make Piña Coladas. It is very sweet on its own!! I made mine mixing 14oz of sweetened condensed milk and the unsweetened coconut milk! Perfect!!! Had quite a bit of milk left over too...can't imagine 16 oz of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Really quite good! It's much better after it refrigerates a day or so as well. The weak part of the cake is the cool whip, which just really has an overwhelming fake taste. I think next time I'll try fresh whipped cream or maybe even coconut milk whipped cream. You definitively do not need the sweetened condensed milk as others have noted. It is plenty sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I used chocolate cake and coconut syrup ( like used in cocktails)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This cake was excellent! It was the wings for my daughter's angel birthday cake and it was a hit! I followed the directions to a T and was a little worried about cutting and moving the wings into place, but the cake was not soggy at all (it was refridgeratered overnight before moving). I got many complements!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is super delicious! I followed the recipe as written. So easy and definitely a repeat it will be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I've made this two ways, with and without the sweetened condensed milk. Just the coconut cream is perfect. The sweetened condensed milk is not necessary at all(a bit too sweet)! I added coconut extract to the cake and the whipped cream (real not cool-whip). Very easy and a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie09
Home Town: Deerfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 570) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States