Coconut Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I followed the recipe and it produced a super sweet, melt-in-your-mouth dessert. If you like tres leche cake, this is very similar, but not as watery. But it is moist, light, airy and just delightful. I brought it to a birthday party and everyone devoured it. Thanks to the reviewer who said to find Cream of Coconut in the alcoholic beverage aisle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xuan2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I love this cake because not only is it delicious, but you can prepare it ahead of time and freeze until needed. It is great to make ahead and have ready to take to barbeque's or family cookouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Made this for an office party, everyone loved it. Some even had 2nd and 3rd servings. I used a French vanilla cake mix. I used half a can of coconut milk and half can of condensed milk and I added a bit of cornstarch to thicken it. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I followed the recipe to the T and this cake was too wet! A real disappoitment
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
So easy and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I changed this up, when I made it. Boo and hiss all you want, I'm still going to rate it and tell you what I did. :) I prepared the cake as directed, but I added 1/4 tsp coconut extract. For the cream of coconut mixture, I used 1/2 cup of cream of coconut and 1/2 cup of milk. I thought the condensed milk would make it too sweet. For the "frosting" 1 small tub of whipped topping, 1 3.5 oz instant vanilla pudding and1 cup of milk. Mix pudding and milk together, then fold in whipped topping. Then topped with coconut. I brought this to Easter dinner and my inlaws loved it. It was so moist and not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Sadly, I was not a huge fan. I pick recipes really really carefully and had already made a Strawberry Poke cake (phenomenal!) but this one was really too sweet. I like sweet desserts, but I think I would try it next time with a pineapple jello/coconut milk combo, or a coconut pudding/coconut milk mix. I made exactly as the recipe called for and it's a bit heavy and soggy. Maybe even a lime jello/coconut milk mixture for the poking, along with the same topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chickorita
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This was a really good cake, but next time I think I will only add half the coconut cream and milk. The cake was falling apart when I was slicing it because it was too moist. Also I used half the whipped topping and half vanilla frosting. My husband and brothers really enjoyed it, I just wish it was more sturdy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickorita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Made this cake this afternoon with help from the boyfriend (ok, he got to poke the holes, cuz that was the "fun" part lol). Amazed at how yummy it turned out! I accidentally bought coconut milk instead of cream, but I put a couple of tsps. of cornstarch in it, and I think it was ok. The cake was very moist - almost like a tres leche cake, but the flavor was great! Loved the "frosting"! My boyfriend though it would be even better chilled, though, so I stuck it in the fridge and will try it later :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I thought this cake would taste more like a coconut cake, but it just tasted like a plain old boxed cake. I even used REAL whipped cream. I wasn't impressed at all. Quite a disappointment! What a waste of my whipped cream and coconut cream. I only made it because it had such good reviews. People must not be used to baking from scratch to think this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 563) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States