Coconut Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
I made this for the seniors card group and although it was delicious for me it was far too sweet. I think it is because as I have got older I have lost my tastes for sweet stuff. Anyway as other people said I only used half of the sweetened milk and definitely used cream of coconut. It came up very very moist so much so that we used spoons instead of forks. Although it was delicious and the ladies enjoyed it I would not make it again. Just one other thing. If you don't like the recipe please don't make nasty comments. Just put why you didn't instead of slagging off the recipe in total. Other people may have loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Baxter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by arodder
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
I made this cake but changed a bit. I did not have the cream of coconut. Used half a can of condensed milk and half a can of evaporated milk. I substitute the oil in the cake with applesauce . Whipped topping is just the right thing for this cake because the other main ingredients are so sweet. Top of with sweeten coconut flakes and blueberries. A big hit in my house. Will definitely make again and again and again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Delicious! Moist! Simple! Highly recommend this recipe! My only complaint is that it is so rich, you can't eat as much as you would like to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
For dedicated sweet tooths only! But my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N2deewind

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
I have been making this cake for what seems like forever, only I much prefer using a yellow cake mix, much more flavorful. I toast the coconut before putting it over the top of the cake. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Debary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
I made this for Easter '15. I did not use the sweetened condensed milk because the coconut cream or cream of coconut that I bought was already sweetened. It was fabulous and only got better the longer it sat in the fridge. I believe I also added some coconut extract to the cake batter. I took another reviewer's advice and made my own whipped cream for the top. It was out-of-this-world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
This is my favorite coconut cake; I have been making it for years. I made it gluten free by using a gluten free cake mix instead but no one could tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
My family and I loved this recipe but I made the cake twice - I had to toss the first attempt. I did the first cake (white cake)in a bundt pan (bad idea!) and let it cool on a wire rack to the point I could turn it out on a plate. It just wouldn't soak up the liquid very well. Second cake was in a 9x13 Pyrex and it stayed in the Pyrex. I drilled the cake with lots and lots of holes and poured on probably 2/3rds of the liquid. I stopped when it seemed like the cake was well-saturated. Later, when I iced it with the frozen topping I topped it with fresh strawberries and toasted coconut. Success!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mishanyapozvizds
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I like this cake. It was good and moist. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 607) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States