Coconut Pecan Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This is a good recipe. I have made this frosting in a bakery (7 1/2 gallons!) and this recipe is similar. I used real butter, evap. milk and followed the recipe except for adding extra coconut and more pecans. Also, regarding the cooking time, the best tip I can give is to let it come to a full rolling boil, then it will begin making a 'smacking' sound as the bubbles pop. Let it 'smack' boil for at least 5 minutes, turn off heat, add other ingredients and you will have no trouble with it thickening. The eggs thicken it, like in a cooked pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
This Frosting is great. I have used this frosting for about 3 years now on my German Chocolate Cakes and it always turn out great. Here's what I do for the perfect frosting. First of all I use it on a 2 layer 9 inches round cake so I have to double the recipe because as it is written, it is not enough frosting for a 2 layer 9 inch cake. I beat together the milk and egg yolks in medium saucepan, and then I stir in the sugar and butter. I stir with my whisk until the butter has melted, and then I put on my timer for 20 minutes. I continue to cook and stir my frosting over medium heat. When the 20 minute timer goes off, I remove it from the heat and then I add my vanilla, coconuts and pecans. Then I let the mixture rest for about 15 to 20 minutes before I try to spread it on my cake. You will notice that when you take the frosting off the heat it will be a little runny but after you add the coconuts and pecans and let it rest it will thicken up. If 20 minutes is not long enough for your frosting to thicken just let it rest until it gets to room temperature. You have to let the frosting rest for a while so it can thicken. Now you are ready to spread the frosting over the cake. I hope this helps. Bettye
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This is an excellent recipe. You might want to edit to say cook 10 minutes as it only says cook until thickened. I brought it to a boil on slightly over medium heat then cooked for 10 minutes stirring often. Added the coconut and nuts and it thickened perfectly. If it didn't thicken for others, they must not have cooked long enough. Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This is a really great recipe but I found that it was better when you double the amount of vanilla and add more pecans and coconut. Also it is much better when using real butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This is what the canned frosting from the store is trying to taste like--but failing. After you make this, you'll never eat the canned stuff again! So good. Regarding the directions, I would add "mix & heat the milk, sugar, and butter, and then add by spoonfuls to the egg yolks in a separate bowl, mixing while adding. Add about three or four spoonfuls and then put that yolk mixture in the pan with the rest of the mixture". Also, I always remove the chalaza (the little white squiggly thing in the egg). Otherwise, you may find it cooked in your frosting--yuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
The only changes I made to this recipe were to use 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar, toasted my coconut on a baking sheet in a @350 oven (Google "how to toast coconut", if you are not sure how), and increased the amount of coconut to 2-1/2 cups. I like the nutty, crispy taste of toasted coconut. This is a very good, easy, and great tasting frosting, that I used as frosting for my Samoas cupcakes. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patsy Shipman Weidenbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LASHAY77
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe! I can just eat spoonfuls by itself. It was a big hit with us. You do have to double the recipe if you are going to frost the sides of a 2 layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LASHAY77

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I used the whole can of milk, kept rest of ingredients the same and cooked for 10 minutes, very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDROSIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Very good! I took advice of others and added 1.5 c of pecans and 2 c coconut. I brought to a rolling boil (smacking bubbles and everything, I was afraid it wasn't going to work) for 6 minutes, stirring often, took off heat, and added pecans and coconut. Was thick right away. This is a keeper! So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I tried making this and the first time it turned out great, then the sugar crystallized over night, so there were little bits throughout. The second time it was just grainy, The recipe I was following said to cook it 12 min med heat, but maybe it wasn't hot enough, or not cooked long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States