Coconut Pecan Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This was delicious!! I whisked it just about the whole time. Once it started to bubble, I cooked it for 12 minutes to make sure it was thickened enough. I also toasted the coconut and pecans in a large dry skillet (at the same time) before adding it all together. Will definitely be saving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Really good! I used sweetened condensed milk and it was SO tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefspecialty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
More like pudding than icing. Not sweet at all. No one asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I tried making this and the first time it turned out great, then the sugar crystallized over night, so there were little bits throughout. The second time it was just grainy, The recipe I was following said to cook it 12 min med heat, but maybe it wasn't hot enough, or not cooked long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This is what the canned frosting from the store is trying to taste like--but failing. After you make this, you'll never eat the canned stuff again! So good. Regarding the directions, I would add "mix & heat the milk, sugar, and butter, and then add by spoonfuls to the egg yolks in a separate bowl, mixing while adding. Add about three or four spoonfuls and then put that yolk mixture in the pan with the rest of the mixture". Also, I always remove the chalaza (the little white squiggly thing in the egg). Otherwise, you may find it cooked in your frosting--yuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LASHAY77
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe! I can just eat spoonfuls by itself. It was a big hit with us. You do have to double the recipe if you are going to frost the sides of a 2 layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LASHAY77

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This recipe is great! My dad is a bit of german chocolate cake guru, this is the only frosting recipe he likes. Infact, I double it to frost one cake! My family has it gone in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This is a good recipe. I have made this frosting in a bakery (7 1/2 gallons!) and this recipe is similar. I used real butter, evap. milk and followed the recipe except for adding extra coconut and more pecans. Also, regarding the cooking time, the best tip I can give is to let it come to a full rolling boil, then it will begin making a 'smacking' sound as the bubbles pop. Let it 'smack' boil for at least 5 minutes, turn off heat, add other ingredients and you will have no trouble with it thickening. The eggs thicken it, like in a cooked pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MORUPE
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MORUPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This was amazing. I made it with boxed German chocolate cake and it was fantastic. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States