Coconut Pecan Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
The best coconut pecan recipe I have found! My taste buds told me it needed a bit of salt so I added just a pinch and it brought out more flavor! This is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Fantastic!I added a little extra coconut, but otherwise perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Really good recipe, butter tastes the best. My grandson calls it candy frosting. It's really good on dark chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairview Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This is the best! I didn't add the cornstarch but "smack" boiled it as suggested by another reviewer for about 7 minutes. I also added more pecans and coconut. The cake and this frosting are going to be a hit at our "Hello, Dolly!" cast party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Awesome frosting recipe. It's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Excellent! So much better than the can stuff! I followed a previous reviewer's tip and brought it to a "smacking" boil and let it boil for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. It thickened right up and turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetaddiction

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This is a really great recipe but I found that it was better when you double the amount of vanilla and add more pecans and coconut. Also it is much better when using real butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
DELICIOUS! I followed the instructions given by reviewer MSBETTYE. It turned out perfectly. If you choose to toast the coconut and pecans watch them carefully! I had to redo my coconut because I let it scorch a bit.I put this on top of a boxed chocolate cake mix but beacause of this frorsting it tasted home made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Quick, easy and great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DHEESCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garretson, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I made this recipe (twice actually) for my husbands birthday. He loves german choc. cake and I rarely make it. The first time I had already started the heat and mixed in the eggs a little to late. There was chunks of eggs whites through out. I had to dump it out and start fresh. I made sure to mix all ingredients together first and then started heating, stirring continually. This turned out amazing. I don't love this kind of frosting that much and found I couldn't keep my fingers out of the leftovers. I had doubled the recipe because I was making a double layer 9 inch cake. I had plenty of frosting. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States