Coconut Pecan Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I can't believe I messed up this recipe, but I did! I made the same mistake as MHHUGHES and mixed up the first 4 ingredients using a full can of milk instead of 1 cup. It had been cooking for awhile so I only added another 1/2 cup of sugar and let it continue to cook for another 10 minutes or so. I added extra vanilla, coconut and nuts too. It wasn't as good as I know it will be next time but it was tasty anyway. My recipe now has the measurements highlighted and circled so I will do it right next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
The best recipe I've tried. Super easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST PECAN FROSTINGS I HAVE MADE FOR MY HUSBAND! HE JUST LOVED IT!!!THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Artisha Pacheco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I love this frosting...very easy to make. I didn't have evap. milk so I only used the fat free milk that I have in the fridge; still turned out great. I'll try with evap.milk next time. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Easy and very good. I made it with lower fat unsweetened coconut flakes and it still turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoreCoffeePlease

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This is the recipe that I have used for years. I change one thing on this recipe. That is on the pecans. I use 1/ 2 cup pecans and 1/ 2 walnuts. You can not even tell that the walnuts are in there at all. It is really good enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
The ease of preparation earned this recipe 4 stars. To obtain the correct consistency you'll need to increase the amount of coconut to 2c., and pecans to 1.5c. minimum. It does thicken up while cooling. One con is that the cooked milk, sugar, & egg base comes out very blond in color. Next time will attempt with lt. brown sugar. Blondness compounded by my using dry-toasted chopped slivered almonds in place of pecans because it was what I had. Also was improved by using salted butter, plus a healthy pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
The best coconut pecan recipe I have found! My taste buds told me it needed a bit of salt so I added just a pinch and it brought out more flavor! This is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Fantastic!I added a little extra coconut, but otherwise perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Really good recipe, butter tastes the best. My grandson calls it candy frosting. It's really good on dark chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairview Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States