Coconut Pecan Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This is a great recipe. I toasted my coconut and my pecans, as other reviewers had mentioned. It really does increase the depth of flavor. I would add that the vanilla should be added with coconut and pecans off the heat. Cooking it with the custard burns off much of the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Perfect. Used the German chocolate boxed cake mix for a sheet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Just like my Granny use to make! A family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Followed commenter Christine's advice. I had no idea my favorite frosting was so easy to make! I put in a little organic almond extract with the vanilla for an extra nutty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan Stinker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
The bread pudding itself is amazing! I used chocolate chips instead of raisins second time. I didn't care much for the sauce but my husband loved it. The second time I made German chocolate cake frosting without the nuts and coconut and it fit my taste better, more caramely. Thank you for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montour, Iowa, USA
Living In: Basalt, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Perfection. My family are German Chocolate fans, and this one is sublime as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This one turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PDK27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I swear I have always bought canned frosting but one day read the ingredients and was disgusted by how many things on the list I couldn't even pronounce. For my husbands bday I made him a chocolate cake and found this recipe for the frosting. I have never made homemade frosting before so I read through the comments and took the advice to let it boil for about 15 minutes. I did not change anything else and I can honestly say we will never be able to use store bought GC frosting again. This recipe is brilliant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
made this exactly as recipe stated... yummy... had more than enough for a 9x13 cake, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
LOVED this recipe! We just needed a frosting to top our leftover sugar cookies and i couldn't pass this recipe up. Even after my sugar cookie was gone I was eating this frosting by the spoonful. (Did I just say that outloud?) I followed it to a T (just about... I just didn't add as much coconut and I omited the pecans) and it worked out great for me! I WILL be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tip for Utokia's Pecan Coconut Crusted Fish

See how to make quick, mess-free pecan and coconut-crusted cod fillets.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States