Coconut Pecan Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Love, love, love this recipe..I am just experimenting with making my own frostings and this was easy and very delicious! I toasted the coconut before adding just to enhance that coconut flavor. Definately gonna make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sophia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
AWESOME!!!!! this frostin recipe is a keeper, i made it and got alot of compliments thanks for sharin the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunnyflower1177
Home Town: Benton Harbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I used this frosting recipe to complete the German Chocolate Cake II that I found on allrecipes.com. Made this for my dad's birthday. What a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I am a die hard coconut hater from way back and I can barely tolerate pecans but this frosting is excellent. I used it on Dark Chocolate Cake II from Allrecipes. I usually tweak a recipe a little but this I made exactly as directed and it turn out great. This recipe has earned a permenant spot in my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is an easy recipe. If it is too sweet you can substitute 1 12 oz. can of evaporated milk for the condensed milk, and thicken with a little corn syrup..1/4 cup. This helps with the sweetness of the chocolate frosting, and makes a nice balance. Also if you add 1/2 brown sugar at the beginning before it cooks you get more of a caramel flavor. GOOD LUCK ALL! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Reminds me f the frosting my Grandma makes! Little longer cook time works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Oh, yum! I am normally not a huge fan of German chocolate frosting, but this one is delicious. I mixed the sweetened condensed milk and eggs together while still cold, then added barely melted butter to it a little at a time, no problem with separated cooked egg yolks. The cook time was just about right on for me. Just be sure to remove from heat when it starts bubbling. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Anything is better than store bought frosting - that stuff is just nasty. This was surprisingly good. Perfect consistency (don't understand why one reviewer said it was too thick) - I followed the recipe as written and it was really, really good. I'm the cook, hubby is the rater - he loved this (me too)! I very generously frosted a 13 x 9 cake and has some left over. Thanks Marsha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
YUM. THis is better than the store bought frosting. Consistency is perfect if you cook a couple minutes longer than indicated on recipe and taste is perfect, surprisingly NOT too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was a very good frosting to go with the Moist German Chocolate Cake. Very easy, too! I added a small amount of brown sugar simply to give it a more brownish color, but another reviewer mentioned cooking it longer to get it darker. I might try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States